-■ ^ %.t^ t...r. f^n^r
f. i'«. ••r' .* .-I? '* *# **
■' .^ .* jf > y; f-.. P.
^ »■ t.f irl.t •*■
»• t>- I
*^ ¥
■;s, ^: j»j .^^ V* . •-■- ^. "^^ -
p F ,;?■ J»-- .. ' f <^' -^ % 1 ^ ^ ^ I .3, ,?:
rxst
■':.*^**%S*r %*»*'«*»**■'«■■ rill:....,
fry 1* '*. M'
It' i t,i, i^,r s,,r A,i
|
H %■ i f^ |
|
|
3 .i-.*.t. |
i-'i^^^f^»^ir:t:i.t.i
rm:¥
^■t'J.J
Ci:t:
■f ■ f
x..::r %. ■ ^' ^
• % %. f f I *
■ Ml > r I I ■
t^r I. I III
■<f > »•
' %~ %'■ t %
.%^T
c ii; 1*
i"rf:i:f;:i.i.j.
m 1 1- K
I" I i^ r.f
^^' % % t t
"W'¥W:i
'l-ft
't'^^-rfji
%^ %¥WM
"'^ P- w
ft #> ■ ' ^
rr-- A. r..t..i
■^^■i§"^-^y|:^^^^^'iri'-^«;;ri;
■*■«.
f%^ri'fj>f:yy.^jjj
^rtr:i^f""ri t,i
W'lVt'
HISTORY
-OF-
JfiARNSTABLE ^UNTY,
MASSACHUSETTS.
1620
I I I
1637-
1686
III . 1890
Edited by SIMKON L. DEYO.
Special Contri'butors:
Hon. Charles F. Swift,
Capt. Thomas Prince Howes, Rev. N. H. Chamberlain, E. S. Whittemore, Esq., JosiAH Paine,
Prof. S. A. Holton, Charles Dillingham,
Prof. John H. Dillingham, James Gifford,
George N. Munsell, M. D., Judge James H. Hopkins, Joshua H. Paine, Rev. Thomas Bell, F. A. Rogers, M.D.
ILLUSTRATED
1890.
Reprinted by -
HIGGINSON BOOK COMPANY
148 Washington Street, Post OfBce Box 778
Salem, Massachusetts 01970
Phone: 978/745-7170 Fea: 978/745-8025
A complete catalog of thousands of genealogy and local history reprints is available from Higginson Books. Please contact us to order or for more information, or visit our web site at www.higginsonbooks.com.
This facsimile reprint has been photo-reproduced on acid-free paper. Hardcover bindings are Class A archival quality.
INTRODUCTION.
In presenting to the people of Barnstable county this history, it is hoped that it will meet with the favorable reception which the earnest and conscientious labors of its compilers merit. It will be seen by an examination of the work that nine important chapters, besides many other valuable articles in it, were prepared by well-known citizens of the county, and it is believed that their names will be considered a guaranty that every reasonable eflfort has been made to secure accu- racy in the many details which constitute a history.
Names of the special contributors appear in the work, but oppor- tunity is taken here to return thanks for the generous response with which requests for information have also been met by the clerks of the different towns, ofiBcers of societies, editors, clergymen and others who were in possession of special information that was desired.
Particular acknowledgement is due for the valuable assistance of George E. Clarke, of Falmouth; Charles Dillingham, of Sand- wich ; Calvin Burgess, of Bourne ; Ferdinand G. Kelley, of Barnsta- ble ; Joshua C. Howes and Watson F. Baker, of Dennis ; Levi Atwood, of Chatham ; Captain Alfred Kenrick and David L. Young, of Orleans ; Simeon Atwood, of Wellfleet ; and to Mr. Clark, of Eastham, who care- fully criticised and corrected the respective town manuscripts sub- mitted to them.
The biographical sketches, for the most part, have been arranged alphabetically at the end of the several chapters. The large number of these sketches has necessitated as brief treatment as the circum- stances would warrant. No pains have been spared to make this de- partment accurate, and it is believed that it constitutes an interesting portion of the work, which will increase in value with the lapse of years.
IV INTRODUCTION.
A new feature and one of interest, is a map showing the location of the various Indian tribes and their villages, which were spread over the Cape prior to its settlement by the whites. Another map, in its proper place, will enable the reader at a glance to learn the dates of settlement and incorporation of the respective towns, and as a ready reference will be of great value. These maps were specially drawn for this work by the editor.
While some unimportant errors may, perhaps, be found amid the multitude of details entering into the composition of a work of this character, it is believed that this result of the historians' labor will be found as free from mistakes as a work of this kind can well be made, and in behalf of these historians is asked the generous indul- gence of those who may be disposed to criticise.
New York, June, 1890.
CONTENTS.
CHAPTER I.
TOPOGRAPHY AND OKOLOGY. PAGE
Location and Boundaries. — Geological Formation. — Contour of the Coast. — Surface and Soil. — The Flora of the Cape. — Effect of the Landscape on the Character of the Cape Men 1
CHAPTER II.
INDIAN HISTORY.
Origin. — Manners. — Customs. — Religion. — Cape' Indians. — Their Villages. — Their
Tribes. — Map. — Kindness. — Subjugation. — Decrease. — Extinction. — Legends.... 12
CHAPTER III.
DISCOVERY AND EXPLORATION.
Early Discovery of the Cape. — Explorations by Gosnold and Dermer. — The Pilgrims. — The Mayflower in Cape Cod Harbor. — Explorations by the Pilgrims. — Com- pact Signed. — Plymouth. — The Lost Boy. — Post at Manomet. — Great Storm. — Declaration of Rights. — First Settlement of the Cape by the Whites. — Sandwich, Barnstable, Yarmouth and Nauset. — Erection of County 20
CHAPTER IV.
CHARTERS, GRANTS AND INDIAN DEEDS.
Spanitih Claims. — Cabot's Discoveries. — Plymouth Company. — Council of Plymouth. —The Pilgrims.— Patent of 1629-30.— Settlement of the Cape Towns and Pur- chases from the Indians. — Charter of 1691 82
CHAPTER V.
CrVIL HISTORY AND INSTITDTIONS.
Basis of Civil Government. — Erection of the County. — Political History. — Council- lors.— Senators. — Representatives. — Sheriffs. — Registers. — County Institutions. — Federal Institutions. — Custom House. — Lighthouses. — Life Saving Service .. . 38
CHAPTER VI.
MILITARY HISTORY.
New England Confederation.— First Indian Troubles.— King Philip's War.— French and Indian Wars.- The Revolution.— Shay's Rebellion.— War of 1812 62
VI CONTENTS.
CHAPTER VII.
MIIJTABY HISTORY (concluded). PAGE
The cavil War.— The Election of Lincohi and the Fall of Sumter.— The first Call for Three- Months' Men.— Response from the Cape Towns. — War Meetings. — Sub- sequent Calls.— Bounties.-Enlistments.— Return of the Volunteers.— G. A. R. Posts. — Monuments 8ft
CHAPTER VIII. TRAVEL AND TRANSPORTATION.
Packet Lines.— Mail Route and Stage Coaches.— Railroads.— Express Lines. — Tele- graph and Cable Lines.— The Telephone Service 110
CHAPTER IX.
INDUSTRIAl. RESOURCES.
The Fisheries. — Coasting. — Shipbuilding. — Manvifacturing. — Saltmaking. — Agricul- ture.— Cranberry Culture. — Summer Resorts. — Yachting 180
CHAPTER X.
THE SOCIETY OP FRIENDS.
General View of the Rise and Course of their Principles in BamBtable County.— The Society in Sandwich.— Newell Hoxie.— The Society in Yarmouth.— David K. Akin.— The Society in Falmouth.— The Dillingham Family 157
CHAPTER XI. BENCH AND BAR.
The Judiciary of the County.— First Courts.- Formation of the Province of Massa- chusetts Bay. — Revision of the Judiciary. — Courts of the Revolutionary Period. —Early Magistrates.— Judges of the Court of Common Pleas.— Court of County Commissioners.- Probate Courts.— Trial Justices.-The Bar of Barnstable County. —Lawyers, Past and Present.- Law Library Association.- District Courts 19ft
CHAPTER XU.
MEDICAL PROFESSION.
Introduction.— Barnstable District Medical Society.— Sketches of Physicians, Past and Present. — Medical Examiners 221
CHAPTER Xin. LITERATTTEK AND LITEEARY PEOPLE. .
Early Writers.- Freeman's History of Cape Cod.— Other Local Works.— Poetry.—
Fiction.— Occasional Writers.- The Newspapers of Barnstable County 24&
CHAPTER XIV.
SANDWICH.
Location and Description.— Settlement and Early Growth.- List of Inhabitants in 1730.— Continued Advancement.— Firing the Woods.— The Town's Poor.— The Revolutionary Period.- The Present Century.- Villages.— Civil History.— Churches.— Schools.— Societies.— Cemeteries —Biographical Sketches 264
CONTENTS. Vll
CHAPTER XV. ,
BOUBNE. PAGE
Trading Post on Monument River. — Indian Hamlets. — Natxiral Features. — Land Pur- chasee. — Settlement and Early Events. — Formation of the Second Precinct. — Salt Works. — Shipbuilding. — Early Mills. — Ship Canal. — Erection of the Town of Bourne. — Town Affairs. — Churches. — Schools. — The Villages and their Insti- tutions.— Biographical Sketches 838
CHAPTER XVI. BAENBTABLK.
Natiiral Features. — Early Industries. — Settlement. — Indian Lands and Names. — Names of Settlers. — Incorporation. — Purchase from Indians. — County Road. — Early Mills. — Common Lands. — The Revolution. — War of 1812. — Population. — Schools. — Civil History. — Churches. — Cemeteries and Villages. — Societies. — Biographical Sketches 864
CHAPTER XVU. TAKMOUTH.
Location and Characteristics. — Settlement. — The Grantees and Early Settlers. — Early Events and Customs. — The Revolutionary Period. — Division of the Town. — War of 1812. — Subsequent Events. — Taverns and Hotels. — Churches. — Schools. — Civil Lists. — The Villages, their Industries and Institutions. — Biographical Sketches 468
CHAPTER XVm.
DENNIS.
Natural Features. — First Settlers of Nobscusset. — Incorporation. — Development. — Industries. — Churches. — Cemeteries. — Schools.— Civil History. — The Villages, their Industries and Institutions. — Biographical Sketches 607
CHAPTER XrX.
CHATHAM.
Natural Features. — Settlement. — Incorporation. — Early Town Action. — Town Poor. — Town House.— Industries. — Ordinaries. — Lighthouses and Life Saving Sta- tions.— MaU and Express Business. — Burying Grounds. — Present Condition. — Chtirches. — Schools.— Civil History.- The Villages and their Institutions. — Biographical Sketches 578
CHAPTER XX.
FALMOUTH.
Description. — Indians. — Settlement. — Incorporation. — Growth and Progress. — The Revolution.— Early Industries.- War of 1812.— Civil War.— Subsequent Events and Present Condition. — Civil Lists. — Churches. — Schools. — Cemeteries. — Vil- lages.— Biographical Sketches 683
CHAPTER XXL MABHFEE.
Location and Description. — Natural Feattires. — Early Events. — Incorporation as a District. — Civil History. — Town of Mashpee. —Church tind Parish. — Schools. — Mashpee Manufacturing Company. — Military Service. — Some Prominent Repre- sentatives.— Industries. — Biographical Sketches 707
Vlll CONTENTS.
CHAPTER XXn.
EASTHAH. PAGE
Territory of the Nausets.— Purchase of the Lands.— Settlement and Incorporation of Nauset.— The Present Town of Eastham.— Natural Features.— Early Settlers. — Urowth and Progress. — Industries. — Civil History. — Churches. — Burying Places.— SchoolB.—Villages.— Biographical Sketches. 730
CHAPTEB XXm.
ORLEANS.
Orleans before its Division from Eastham. — Incorporation. — Natural Featut«s. — Wreck of the Sparrowhawk.— Roads.- Early Settlers.— Various Events. —Indus- tries.—Churches.— Cemeteries.— Schools.— Civil History.— Villages.— Biograph- ical Sketches 747
CHAPTER XXrV.
• WELLFLEET.
Formation and Description.- Pioneers.- Early Town Action.— The Revolution. — War of 1813.— The Fisheries.-Population.— King's Highway.— The Eastham Line.— Town House.— ShipbuUding.— Town Records.— Life Saving Station and Lighthouse.- Early Business Interests.- Wind Mills.— Civil History.— Schools. — Churches.— Cemeteries.— Wellfleet Village.— South Wellfleet.— Biographical Sketches 787
i CHAPTER XXV.
HABWIOH.
Incorporations-Description.— Natural Features.— Division of the Land.— The Set- tlers.—The Fisheries.- The Salt Industry.— Cranberry Culture.— Religious Soci- eties.— Official History.— Schools.— The Villages and their Various Institutions. —Biographical Sketches 885
CHAPTER XXVI.
BREWSTER.
Incorporation.— Natural Features.— Purchase and Division of the Land. — The First Settlers and their Families.— Industries.— Population.— The Militia.— Religious Societies.— Villages.— Civil Lists.- Meteorological Condition.— Biographical Sketches 891
CHAPTER XXVn.
TRURO.
Exploration by the Pilgrims.- Proprietors of the Pamet Lands.- Incorporation of Truro.- Boundaries.- Natural Feanrres.— King's Highway.— Pounds.— Indns- tries.- The Wreck of the Somerset.— The Revolution.— Oale of 1841.— Various Town Affairs.— Civil History.— Churches.-Burying Grounds.— Schools.-Vil- lages.— Biographical Sketches. 933
CHAPTER XXVin.
PROVINCETOWN.
Early Explorations.— The Pilgrims.— Location and Characteristics.- First Settle- ment.—Incorporation. — Civil History. — Resources of the Town. — Banks. — Insur- ance Companies.- Public Library.— Societies.— Churches.— Schools.— Biograph- ical Sketches 951-1010
CONTENTS. IX
ILLUSTRATIONS. ''-
PAGE
Akin, David K Portrait of, facing 183
Akin, David K Late residence of, facing 181
Ames. Simeon L Portrait of, facing 419
Ancient Grave Stones Barnstable Cemetery 398
Attaquin, Solomon Portrait of, facing 715
Atwood.Levi ." " " 607
Atwood, Nathaniel E " " 895
Atwood, Simeon " " 813
Baker.EzraH " " 588^
Baker, Howes " " 686^
Baker, Joseph K " " 54ft
Baker, Nehemiah P " " 67?
Bass River Lower Bridge Precedes 558
Baxter, Edwin Portrait of, facing 64?
Bearse, Charles C
Bourne, Benjamin F. Boy den, William E. . .
Brooks, Obed
Burgess, Nathaniel. . .
Burgess, Beth S Portrait of , foUows 850
Burgess, Seth S Residence of, precedes 861
Bursley, Daniel P Portrait of, follows 428
Bursley, Daniel P Residence of, precedes 428
Cahoon, Barzillai C Residence of, facing 681
Gaboon, Cyrus Portrait of, facing 866
Chapman, David S Portrait of , follows 54^
Chapman, Mrs. Sallie E Residence of, precedes
42-1 345 808 868 848
646
Chase, Albert Portrait of, facing 424
Chase, Job " " 868
Court House *^
Crosby, Albert Residence of, facing 915
Crosby, Isaac Portrait of, facing 916
Crosby, Nathan " " ^14
CroweU, Edward E " " 546
CroweU, Eleazer K " " 548
CrbweU, Joshua " " 549
Crowell, Luther " " 551
CroweU, Peter H Portrait of, follows 553
Crowell, Peter H Residence of, precedes 558
CroweU, Prince S Portrait of , facing 564
CroweU, Seth Portrait of 560
CroweU, Rev. Simeon Portrait of , facing 492
CroweU, Waiiam " " 556
X CONTENTS.
PAGE
Dexter House Woods Holl, facing 671
Dillingham, John H Portrait of, facing 195
Doane, Abiathar " " 874
Doane, George W., M.D " " 225
Doane, John " " 210
Doane, Nathaniel " " 870
Doane, Oliver Portrait of, follows 770
Doane, VtQentine, jr Residence of, facing 878
Doane Homestead Orleans, precedes 771
Drew, George P Residence of, facing 877
Edson, Nathan Portrait of , follows 428
Edson, Nathan Residence of, precedes 429
Eldridge, Levi Portrait of, facing 618
Freeman, Richard R " " 817
Friends Meeting House Sandwich 175
Friends Meeting House West Falmouth 191
Friends Meeting House . . Yarmonth 181
Fish, Joseph C Portrait of, facing 687
Fisk, David " " 45
Fisk, Uriah B Residence of, facing 558
Ginn, David R., M.D ' " 868
Ginn's Bazaar Dennis Port, facing 86$
Goss, Franklin B Portrait of, facing 481
Gould, Samuel H., M.D " " 280
Hamblin, Caleb O Portrait of, follows 690
Hamblin, Caleb O Residence of, precedes 691
Hamblin, John C Portrait of, facing 692
Harding, Hiram '. " " 618
Harding, Joseph C " " 617
Harriman, Judge Hiram P " " 212.
Headstones, Ancient. Barnstable 398
Hoi way, David N Portrait of, facing 811
Howard, Ezra C " " 356
Howes, Jerusha S Residence of, precedes 563
Howes, Joshua C Portrait of, facing 561
Howes, Levi " " 666
Howes, Moses Portrait of, follows 562
Howes, Thomas Prince Portrait of, facing 255
Howes, William F " " 564
Hoxie, Joseph " " , , 316
Hoxie, Newell " " 178
Hoiie, Susan F Residence of, facing 175
Hnlbert, Chauncy M., M.D Portrait of, facing 232
Incorporation Map 89
Indian Map 15
lyanough House '. 411 '
CONTENTS. xi
PAGE
Jones, Silas Portrait of, facing 695
Keith, Isaac N " " 43
Keith, Isaac N Residence of, facing 341
Kelley, Ferdinand G Portrait of, facing 438
KeUey, Stilhnan " <• 568
Kelley, Watson B " " 879
Kemp, Samuel W " " 818
Kenrick, Alfred " " 774
Kingman, Seth K " " 777
Leonard, Jonathan, M.D " " 235
Lighthouse, Ruins of Chatham 594
Lombard, David Portrait of, facing 948
Loring, Hiram " " 570
Lothrop, Freeman H " " 215
Lovell, UjTenuB A Residence of, facing 440
Lovell, George Portrait of, facing 441
Lower Bass River Bridge Precedes 553
Makepeace, Abel D Portrait of, facing 442
Marston, RuBseU " " 444
Matthews, David " " 496
Mingo, Walter R Residence of, facing 719
Munsell, George N., M.D Portrait of, facing 286
Nickerson, Frederick " " ' 919
Nickerson, Samuel M " " 625
NobscuBsett House Dennis, facing 155
Nye, David D Portrait of, facing 358
Nye, WilUam A Residence of, facing 339
Packard, William E Portrait of, facing 860
Penniman, Edward " " 742
Phinney, Abishia " " 700
Rogers, F. A., M.D " " 242
Salt Works, Ruins of South Yarmouth 143
" Sandy Side " Yarmouth Port, facing 479
Scudder, Judge Henry A Portrait of, facing 217
Sears, Barnabas (deceased) " " 499
Sears, Barnabas Residence of, facing 484
Sears, John K Portrait of, facing 500
Sears, Joshua Portrait of, follows 572
Sears, Mrs. Minerva Residence of, precedes 573
Sears, Nathan Portrait of, facing 574
Sears, Stephen " " 502
Sears Homestead ! South Yarmouth, facing 484
Settlement Map of Barnstable County 39
Shiverick, Asa Portrait of , facing 702
Simpkins, Nathaniel Stone " " 604
Simpkins Homestead Yarmouth Port, facing 480
Xll CONTENTS.
PAGE
SmaU, Zebiua H Portrait of, facing 886
Smith, Rufus •• " 627
Snow, Calvin " " 782
Soule, Thomas H., jr Hotel Hyannis 411
Sparrow, Benjamin C, Supt Portrait of, facing 59
Swett, James Portrait of, facing 828
" Tawasentha" Brewster, facing 915
Taylor, Elisha Portrait of, faqing 506
Taylor, Joseph << " 786
Tobey, F. B Hotel, facing 155
Tobey Homestead Dennis, facing 511
Young, Jonathan Portrait of, facing 786
HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
CHAPTER I.
GEOLOGY AND TOPOGRAPHY.
Location and Boundaries. — Geological Formation. — Contour of the Coast. — Surface and Soil. — The Flora of the Cape. — Effect of the Landscape on the Character of the .Cape Men.
THE peninsula forming the southeastern extremity of Massachu- setts, and embraced within the present county of Barnstable, is better known as Cape Cod. It extends easterly into the Atlantic forty miles, thence northerly thirty-five miles to its extremity in north latitude 42°, 4'.
The geographical name it bears was first applied in 1602, by Gos- nold, to its most northern portion. Its position, contour and import- ance early earned the sobriquet of " The Right Arm of Massachusetts," which it appropriately bears, having its shoulder, elbow, wrist and hand symbolically poised over the deep, as if beckoning the dispirited pilgrims to cross over and rest safely under the palm; and pointing toward Plymouth, indicating the haven where should be planted the seeds of civil and religious liberty that should bloom to the admira- tion of the world. It has Plymouth county and Buzzards bay for its western boundary. Vineyard and Nantucket sounds for its southern, the ocean for the eastern, and Cape Cod bay for the northern boundary, being twenty miles in width across the shoulder, tapering to eight at the elbow, two at the wrist, and then widening to a hand.
Its geological formation has been hastily considered by scientific writers, who have recorded various and varying conclusions — perhaps facts — which may be modified by more minute researches in the future light of science; but thus far the man who, after Agassiz, knows most about the subject, says that a great interrogation point might be appropriately set against the whole topic, to denote as yet an unan- swered inquiry, but it is gratifying to know that a gentleman of the United States Geological Survey spent the past year on and about the Cape, from whose reports a valuable and more conclusive opinion will 1
2 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
in due time be published by the government. It is, however, conceded that the Cape is wholly, or so far as yet determined, of drift; but some of the strata may prove by future research to belong to the tertiary or upper mesozoic, still there is no lithological or paleontological evi- dence of any claim to a position below the first division of the last glacial period. The depth of this drift was thought, by Professor Agassiz, to be forty feet; but upon the extreme north end of the Cape an artesian well was recently sunk 140 feet without touching stratified rock, yet it is possible that the point at Provincetown, where this well was sunk, may have been extended by sand deposits, and that the body of the peninsula may have a different substrata, j^et unde- termined as to its formation.
Another evidence of its glacial formation is seen in the well-defined moraines with which the Cape abounds, the most marked being the great central ridge. The Buzzards bay branch of the moraine com- mences at the Elizabeth islands and extends in a northerly direction along the east side of the bay to the town of Bourne, where it turns easterly, continuing along the northerly side of the Cape into Orleans; and Doctor Hitchcock defines the broken undulations of Truro and Wellfleet as parts of a continuous moraine of a distinctive character. From the morainic angle at Bourne, extending to the northward, is the Plymouth moraine, of which only the southern continuation per- tains to this county. Between Woods HoU and Bourne the moraine presents an unbroken line of ridges, which is continued east as far as Yarmouth, then we find this morainal ridge interrupted by gaps, and in Brewster and Orleans losing the distinctive morainal characteristics by the overwashing and overriding of water and ice.
The boulders deposited along and upon the Buzzards bay and east- ern moraine are further evidence of glacial formation. That of Buz- zards bay has this deposit of boulders on both sides, and on the east and central they are more thickly strown on the northern face, except in the town of Dennis, where they were deposited more along the apex. Brought here in the glittering chariots of ancient icebergs — those most wonderful, uncommon carriers — these huge masses of Quincy granite, with others from perhaps north of Labrador, left their failing vehicle as it weakened under the quiet influence of the gulf stream — that other most wonderful of Nature's agencies — and so here we find them extending into Orleans and more or less along the top of the ridge the entire extent of the moraine; but the south slope is comparatively free from those of any significance. Many are deeply imbedded in the drift, and some are found within the salt marshes. Some have well rounded forms, others are split, and still others are eroded into weird shapes, bearing the seeming footprints of man and animals on their upper surfaces. A large boulder in the
GEOLOGY AND TOPOGRAPHY. o
west part of Brewster is called Rent rock because of its peculiar dis- memberment; another in Eastham is of suflBcient altitude to be of use as a landmark for seamen; and the granite boulder of the town of Barnstable has been perpetuated in history as the place of the first town meeting and church service for the Puritan settlers. The hard, blue clay vein which has been thought to underlie the upper Cape, crops out near the great swamp on the bay side of Truro, and running across that town in a northeasterly direction, forms the clay banks at the Highland Light, where the bluflf shore bank of almost solid clay rises over one hundred feet above the tide.
The contour of the Cape presents various indentations by bays and harbors, with their intervening bars and points, which are more or less changing yearly. Accompanied by the reader, let us pass around its perimeter, commencing at the head of Buzzards bay. Nothing of note is discernable here at the head of the bay, but two miles south we find the mouth of Monument river, where the Dutch trading vessels visited the post of the pilgrims; and around a point just below is Back River harbor — one terminus of the proposed ship canal. Wenaumet neck is a prominent peninsula extending into the bay, giving protec- tion to Red Brook harbor on its south, which opens into Cataumet harbor, between Bourne and Falmouth. The indentations along the Falmouth coast on the bay are Wild harbor on the north and Hog island two miles below. Quisset harbor is north of Woods Holl, from which the coast runs irregularly southwest, terminating in Long neck, enclosing Great harbor. The coast from the head of the bay to Woods Holl is fringed with salt marshes of more or less extent, the Falmouth shore being bold and sandy, with a distribution of boulders.
In our course along the Vineyard sound coast we find Little harbor south of Woods Holl, where the buoy depot of the government is located, and here we also find the boldest portion of the south shore of the Cape. The various ponds and bays of the Falmouth coast run- ning far into the town, have not suflBcient depth at their mouths to form harbors until we reach Waquoit bay which, in high tide, is used by vessels of light draught. Eastward, around the sandy shore of Mashpee, is Popponesset bay, the dividing line between that town and Barnstable — a bay used for small shipping and enclosing Little and Great necks of Mashpee. Around the neck comprising that part of Barnstable known as Cotuit we find on the east side, Cotiiit bay, enclosing Oyster island and opening into Great bay, which is further inland. New harbor. Squaw island and Hyannis harbor complete the south coast of Barnstable in its circuitous course easterly, the latter harbor opening into Lewis bay, which is safe and commodious, with Point Gammon for its protection on the south. This coast is low and sandy, undergoing frequent change, and Dog-fish bar has formed,
4 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
extending several miles eastward to opposite the Bass River harbor, between Yarmouth and Dennis. The bays and coves of Bass river form anchorage for fishing vessels, and the harbor at its mouth is important. The bays along the coast of Dennis and Harwich are inconsiderable, yet by the southward bend of Harding's beach on the Chatham coast and the southwestern extension of Monomoy point these towns have ample anchorage. East of the beach named is Stage harbor, spreading its arms into the town of Chatham, all of which have safe anchorage inside when the bar across the mouth is safely passed at high water.
The elbow of the Cape, at Chatham, is perhaps subjected to more changes from shifting sands than other points. New shores and bars form and disappear by the action of the waters of the ocean and sound, which are here at right angles. Monomoy, extending several miles toward Nantucket, has been greatly enlarged by the filling of the salt marsh along its western edge, and the southern extremity is gradually extending by these accumulations, this beach now being several miles in length and one-half mile or more in width. Through this beach, in 1807, when the first light was erected in Chatham, was an entrance for vessels to a safe anchorage within, which has been since practically destroyed. The Yarmouth Register of November 7, 1874, speaks of the ravages of old ocean here as removing three-fourths of a mile in length from Nauset beach, of its washing away in 1872 two hundred feet in length of the government landing, and of further ravages in 1873, which necessitated the removal of government buildings and private residences. The shore of Chatham is a sandy bluff on the Atlantic coast until we reach Old harbor at North Chatham, where, about the middle of the century, the sea broke through the outer beach, reopened a former navigable channel, which, after a very few years, was again filled with sand. The mouth of Pleasant bay, between Chatham and Orleans, formerly admitted large vessels, which now its shallowness precludes. Continuing north we pass the high, unbroken, sandy beach of Orleans, arriving at Nauset harbor, where navigation is also now impeded by drifting sands. Here was carried far inland by storm the English vessel to whose passengers the people of Plymouth gave aid. From this harbor northward along the east shore of Wellfleet, Truro and Provincetown the bold, sandy shore is unbroken by bays until we reach Race Point neck. Passing the islands and doubling Long Point neck, we find a harbor gradually fill- ing with sand, although the government has made liberal appropria- tions for its preservation, and the commonwealth has enacted penal laws for the protection of the trees that lessen the ravages. In 1850 the legislature of the state called the attention of congress to the continual drifting of the sand and the gradual abrasion of the
GEOLOGY AND TOPOGRAPHY. 5
beach, which, if allowed to continue, must effectually destroy the harbor.
The only considerable opening along the west coast of Truro is East harbor, in the north part of that town, as we commence our sur- vey southward on the west shore. In the south part, near Truro vil- lage, at the mouth of Pamet river is a small harbor, and along the coast of Wellfleet we find Duck harbor, but not until we have passed the islands outside of Wellfleet harbor do we find anchorage for ves- sels of any tonnage, and here in a land-locked haven. Wellfleet harbor is the largest on the bay side of the Cape, having Duck and Black-fish creeks emptying into it, both forming other harbors of lesser capacity. Along the coast of Eastham we find some saltmar.<;h around the mouth of Herring river and to the southward, but no harbors of importance. The short stretch of Orleans situate on the bay has very small open- ings at Rock harbor and Namskaket and a wide, sandy beach, which is continued along the north coast of Brewster, with high uplands a short distance inland. The mouth of another Herring brook near Quivet creek presents the only indentation along the Brewster shore beyond the small curvatures. Sesuet harbor and Nobscusset being passed on the Dennis coast, we arrive at Bass hole, where, with a small harbor, commences the salt marsh which fringes the short shore' line, of Yarmouth, extending along the south side of Barnstable harbor and terminating in the Great marshes. Sandy neck extends easterly from Scorton, in Sandwich, nearly across the town of Barnstable, ter- minating about one mile from the coast of Yarmouth, between which points we find the mouth of the harbor. Along the only sea coast of Sandwich we find Scorton neck, Scorton harbor. Spring hill, Sandwich and Scusset harbors, with a low, marshy beach. Passing along the short extent of beach belonging to the town of Bourne, which has no indentations, we reach Peaked cliff, the northern terminus of the boundary line between Plymouth and Barnstable counties, which line passes southwesterly across the foot of Herring pond to the point from whence began our journey of observation.
The peculiar position of the Cape, extending far out from the general line of the Atlantic coast, greatly impedes and endangers navigation, and this fact is intensified by the drifting sands which are so constantly changing and re-forming shoals. Notwithstanding the several lighthouses on its points, lightships on the outer bars, the many carefully placed buoys and the constant vigils of the govern- ment ofl&cials, the Cape and its vicinity, more than any other on the Atlantic coast, is the dread of the mariner.
The consideration of the surface and soil of the county, than which no physical features have been more changed, would naturally con- clude this chapter. The condition of the Cape when first seen by
6 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
Gosnold in 1602, was sandy shores, bluffs inland and thickly wooded. The pilgrims, after anchoring in Cape Cod harbor, found " it was com- passed about to the very sea with oaks, pines, juniper, sassafras and other sweet wood." Here are the huge stumps whose trees a century and a half ago gave reason for the locality name — Wood End, and along the bay coast of Dennis and far out in the receding sands may be seen the stumps and the 'remains of fallen trunks of giant trees, black with decay; and no one knows how long they have been pre- served by the saline qualities of the water, or when or how they were felled. The coasts of other towns, to a greater or less degree, reveal a similar condition of the primeval forests. That the entire Cape was once a noble forest there can be little or no question.
The surface is diversified with undulations of varied heights and depths— the uplands mostly covered with small pines and oaks, and the depressions with ponds of fresh water, of which but few have a a visible inlet or outlet. It is estimated that the area of the Cape ponds exceeds thirty -seven thousand acres. The 174 more important ones, containing over fifteen square miles, or about one-fourth the total pond area, are noticed by name in the town chapters following. Of these Bourne has fifteen, covering 356 acres; Sandwich seven, of 616 acres; Falmouth sixteen, 688; Mash pee six, 1,420; Barnstable twenty-seven, 1,706; Yarmouth fifteen, 564; Dennis twelve, 441; Brews- ter twenty-five, 2,093; Harwich ten, 435; Chatham thirteen, 280; Or- leans five, 213; Eastham five, 223; Wellfleet six, 225; Truro five, 108; and Provincetown seven ponds, aggregating 255 acres. The salt ponds connected with the extensive line of coast, together with the bays, the coves, and the small fresh water ponds without name and almost without number, would greatly increase the area. Salt' marshes fringe the coasts, the largest being the great marshes of Barnstable. The reclamation of these has been advocated and the experiment tried in every generation; and more than once has the legislature granted corporate powers to those who thought the result attainable. These marshes are flooded twice a day at high tide, and when fairly green are as beautiful as a well-kept lawn. In time, as the marshes gather, the soil becomes higher and firmer, the grass finer, and the product is highly valued for the cattle, as salt hay. Of these salt meadows a considerable portion has been converted to the production of English hay by the generations of this century.
Even the surface of the Cape has undergone changes that hardly seem credible. Captain Southack in 1717, who, as a government agent, was sent out to search for the pirate ship Whida, wrecked on the back side of the Cape, made a map of a channel across from sea to sea as it then existed nearly on the line between Orleans and East- ham; and on this channel he marked a whaleboat with this note:
GEOLOGY AND TOPOGRAPHY. 7
"The place where I came through with a whaleboat, being ordered by ye government to look after ye pirate ship Whida, Bellame com- mander, cast away ye 26th of April 1717, where I buried one hundred and two men drowned." It is generally accepted that this channel was made by that gale, and the early records show that it required a general turnout of the people and great labor to close it. Other low and narrow places have been similarly changed by great storms. During the severe storm of 1872, not only was a deep, wide channel cut through the outer beach opposite the Chatham light, but the gov- ernment property was washed out ninety feet inland to a depth of thirty feet, unearthing a peat bog in which, around a large stump, were the tracks of six human beings. George Eldridge, the hydro- grapher, described these tracks as of different sizes and says that tufts of coarse animal hair had been impressed into the clayey surface of the soil near the stump, upon which were other tufts where the animal had rubbed. The spot was soon again covered with drifting sands.
Of the fifteen towns comprising the county, Chatham and Province- town are the most affected by the sands from wind and wave; but Or- leans, Eastham, Wellfleet and Truro experience more or less of these changes, and the upper towns are not entirely free from them. The denuded knolls that generations ago were well timbered, have been exposed to the ravages of heavy winds, blowing the finer and better soil into the bogs and depressions, or into the salt marshes and har- bors, thus perceptibly changing the surface. To save the harbors and retain the soil, public and private efforts have been turned to planting the uplands with forest trees, which labor is being crowned with suc- cess.
The soil is diversified with portions alluvial and others diluvial, and once the surface was richly covered with vegetable mould; but the sand, cut adrift from its fibrous moorings and the long cultivation of the virgin soil without the return of an honest equivalent, has greatly reduced its fertility. It is still largely productive in every way by later and better methods of compensating in some way for the depreciation caused by successive crops, as is now practised in every county where agriculture is successful. The upper towns of the Cape have more or less loam and clay in their soils, which are consequently stronger, while the lower towns have a lighter soil but as productive under proper cultivation. About the creeks, marshes and swamps are found rich deposits sufficient to make the entire county more pro- ductive than are some so-called agricultural counties of the Common- wealth. The later generations have learned this, and to a greater or less extent are availing themselves of these superior advantages. Hundreds of acres of valuable cranberry bogs, fine vegetable gardens, and luxurious meadows have been redeemed within the last half cen-
8 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
tury, and hundreds more are resting in their native sloughs, waiting for utilization by the application of the adjoining sand bank. These improvements have only commenced, and the Cape, with its thousands of acres of valuable lowlands and millions of tons of virgin sand, is susceptible of still further development.
The clay vein of Truro, running across the Cape and cropping out on the bay side near the Great swamp, is an exception to the general character of the soil. The bank there is filled with pounds in which the water lodges and is held by the firm clay.
The peninsular character of the Cape has distinguished it during all historic time; but it is entirely plausible that in geologic time it had a more continental character. Off the south shore of Barnstable, where is now a channel two miles wide, separating Bishop and Clerk's light from the land, was once a sheep pasture through which only a small creek flowed, and within the period of our own colonial history the Nantucket farmers cut fencing on an island seven miles off Chat- ham,where now the rushing, restless tide has undisputed sway. Ram island, where many of the present residents of Chatham have repaired for frolic and berries, has gone down in the unequal strife and the sullen sea sweeps over a spot where the Vikings dwelt eight cen- turies ago — the spot which was still inhabitable when in 1620 Sir Humphrey Gilbert noted it as Nauset island. If the physical charac- ter of this peninsula has been thus modified by the Titanic war which old ocean — so old and sc busy — has forever waged upon it, not less important upon its animal and vegetable life has been the effect of what Michalet, in his La Mer, calls the tyrannj' of the sea.*
Every Cape woodland shows the effect of this strife, and whole forests have been bent by the prevailing winds. This fact, to wit, an incessant struggle of elements, is the best type of the Cape life as it has been and is, and is what has colored the Cape character.
The botany of the Cape is as unique as its geology. Here again the sea has been master — yet also a conveyancer of beauty and fate to the flowers. We may not pause here to divide the imported flow- ers from those indigenous to our soil. The pilgrims were English- men and long remained so. They, or their wives, brought here many of the old English flowers: holley, Canterbury bells, lilacs, Aaron's rod, box, bouncing Bettys', and above all " the Pilgrim rose," which after all our modern horticulture, still abides as the peer of the best; for the sea hightens color in the rose's petals as well as the maid's cheek. But the sea has brought here more flower seeds than ever the Mayflower and her sister ships since the landing at Plymouth.
*The remainder of this chapter is contributed by the Rev. N. H. Chamberlain of Bourne, a native of the Cape, who has delivered a very popular lecture on the topic here briefly considered. — Ed.
GEOLOGY AND TOPOGRAPHY. 9
It may be stated in the rough, that the Cape flora is divided by its central hill range into two great divisions; that the flowers on the south side are more intimately connected with those in the latitude of Norfolk, Va., than with their neighbors across the ridge, and that the same or equal intimacy exists between the flora of the Cape, north side, and that of the Bay of Fundy. The sea currents did it. Of course the trailing arbutus or " May flower," as our people call it, is the local flower of the Cape. This flower is found indeed, widely scattered over the temperate zone, but here and in the Plymouth woods it attains its maximum of purity and grace. For all fat garden flowers necessarily lower their colors in these respects, to the wild ones. They difl^er very much as a vestal does from an ordinary woman of fashion. For if flowers be the smile of the good God, that smile in flowers must be the noblest, which best symbolizes the lofti- est virtues. Every traveler who had eyes to see, has remarked the very delicate and spiritualized look and structure of nearly all the flowers of the upper Alps; as if their very struggle for life with their adverse circumstance had given them a higher life and form of beauty. What the glacier and snow peaks are to the Swiss flowers, that, as water also, the sea is to the Cape flowers. They have also the strife for life and they too are made perfect through suffering. The Cape Codder in his travels may pick " May flowers " in their sea- son, in almost any wood of our zone, but he will miss not a little of the Cape virginity and above all the circumstance of the Cape flower itself — the grey mosses holding up its flower clusters a little toward the sun — mosses which seem the fringe and raiment of eternity over the eternal breast of Earth, mother of flowers and men — the cold sea chill of the wind on shore; and as he holds her flowers to look at them, his eyes cannot but wander far off to the Cape sea, grey, turbu- lent, white crested, which like the voice of " the other world " breaks in its mighty monotone upon the desolate shore.
Here lie the secret ties, which often unknown to him bind many a Cape man to his province; sharp contrasts in scenery everywhere; the sea in storm, and the inland lakes and ponds among the hills, with their white strands circling their placid waters, where the sea birds rest in their spring or autumn passage, north and south; the rude and boisterous wind, and to-morrow the gentlest sunshine on the south hill slope where the first violets and anemones appear; the ever changing tides and the fixed hills, with the forest watching as a sen- tinel who never leaves his post; and two forms of solitude — the soli- tude of the sea shore and of the wilderness, so diverse at least in form and yet both ministrants, in a religious way, to a sensitive nature. He may enter the one only for seaweed and the other for a load of cord wood, but his circumstance remains unique, whether he knows it
T-O HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
or not. This is why the Cape man abroad misses somewhat out of the landscape. The rose is not the same elsewhere. The spring in the Rocky mountains may show water as pellucid as any at a hill foot here and the sand through which it throbs may be as white, but the mosses at the brim and the ferns which mirror their fragility in those " living waters " will not be there. It may be provincial for the Ice- lander, the Switzer and the Cape Codder to hold, each, that his own land is the fairest on which the sun shines, yet they each hold to it and for much the same reasons. Their land is very much unlike any other.
The scenery of the Cape is both unique and full of variety, circled by the sea and the forest, for after all the sea is the great master mechanician of the Cape landscape. It is hardly too much to say that it has determined very largely the manners and the occupations, at least of the old Cape Cod. " Life," says Emerson, " is by water courses." It may be ventured to say that liberty is by the sea. Great distances enfranchise; great altitudes enslave. "The Alps," .says Longfellow, "are a poor place for a sad heart to go to." At Grindel- wald or Lauterbrunnen one feels in the grey prison house of Eternity and as naught. For two hundred and fifty years or so the sea has lain open here to the venture of any man who dared it, and was and is, a highway for him to the ends of the world. The majestic orbit of its horizon has been ever tempting him to try what was beyond— to come out of himself and become a greater self at sea or on shore. Of stock which has no servile blood in it, the Cape man of the genuine breed has become one of the most independent men on earth. His own will runs even into a private burying ground for him and his.
As one face of this same independence is the man's curious self- reliance. He will undertake, if the wages satisfy, to carve a bust of Jupiter or oversee a factory where they manufacture moonshine. Only he will be thrifty enough not to take any stock. He respects the sea with which he struggles, and himself as well. He thinks he knows how to rig and. sail a boat and is a very careful pilot at the helm. If his wagon was in the mire he would never pray to Hercules to help, until he had put his best shoulder to the wheel. But if there was no start and he a religious man, he would then pray as lustily as the best, and if he were not religious he would probably sit down under a tree and smoke his pipe, revolving whether there was any God or whether it would pay him to buy another cart.
Here lies the reason why so many Cape men have been successful business men. Their youth was a struggle with the soil and with the sea. They toughened with the toil, Spartan and frugal. When they went among other men they were well armed with frugality and self- reliance, and inferior men became as clay to their foresight and dominancy.
GEOLOGY AND TOPOGRAPHY. 11
In much then that is formative in human character the Cape land- scape has lent itself to make the Cape man free, self-reliant, frugal and indomitable. It has bred in him pluck and luck. The obligation he is under to his native province he is apt to fulfill by his life-long affection for the Cape. The Cape colors him all his life, the root and fiber of him. He may get beyond but he never gets over the Cape. Make him a merchant at Manilla or Calcutta, a whaler at the North Pole, a mate in Australian waters, a millionaire on Fifth avenue, a farmer in Minnesota, and the Cape sticks to him still. He will feel in odd hours to his life's end, the creek tide on which he floated ashore as a boy, the hunger of the salt marsh in haying time, the cold splash of the sea spray at the harbor's mouth, the spring of the boat over the bar where he came home from fishing with the wind rising on shore out of the grey night clouds seaward, the blast of the wet northeaster in the September morning, when under the dripping branches he picked up the windfall of golden and crimson apples, the big flaked snow of the December night when he beaued his first sweetheart home from singing school; and he will see in dreams, per- haps, the trailing arbutus among its grey mosses, on the thin edge of a spring snow bank, the bubbling spring at the hill foot near tide water, the fat crimson roses under his mother's window, with a clump of Aaron's rod or lilac for background; the yellow dawn of an Octo- ber morning across his misty moors, and the fog of the chill pond among the pine trees, and above all the blue sea within its headlands, on which go the white winged ships to that great far off world which the boy has heard of and the grown man knows so well.
CHAPTER II.
INDIAN HISTORY.
Origin.— Manners.— Customs.— Religion.— Cape Indians.— Their Villages.— Their Tribes. — Map. — Kindness. — Subjugation. — Decrease. — Extinction. — Legends.
THE history of this county may be regarded as beginning with its settlement by Europeans, or in those diplomatic relations between their governments and the adventurers who sought to control the prospective settlements within it ; yet we may concern ourselves somewhat with a mention of those ill-fated Indians whom the Puritans found here, and whose extermination as a people was so speedily accomplished.
Scientists of every age and country have advanced ideas concern- ing their origin ; but as they never had a written language the truth of these propositions must remain in darkness. That they have been called Indians since their existence became known is due to the fact that ancient navigators supposed that America formed a part of the East Indies.
Tradition, current among the Indians, throws little or no light on their origin. They generally believed that they sprang from the earth. In one tradition they have been represented as having climbed up the roots of a large vine from the interior of the globe, and in others as ascending from a cavern to the light of the sun. At an early day some of the Indians still retained indistinct traditions of crossing, a body of water to reach this land ; and others that they originally dwelt in a land across a narrow lake where wicked people dwelt, that the lake was full of islands, and they suffered with cold while crossing. Curious remains are extant in various parts of the country showing that the original dwellers here had rare mechanical skill, which they had not lost by the allurements of a wild forest life. These evidences, more especially confined to the western portion of America, are a vindication of the theory that the land was first peopled by the way of Behring strait ; also, that less civilized bands ■drove them east and south — or they, in themselves, became more in love with forest life, scattering and multiplying until the whole land was peopled. Some historians trace the Indians to the ten lost tribes
INDIAN HISTORY. 13
of Israel, some to the dispersion from Babel, some to the enterprising Phoenician sailors, and others to the Carthagenians ; but of all these theories, that of their coming from the Eastern continent across the straits to North America seems the most acceptable. While their race was distinct from all European peoples, in customs, personal appearance and language, yet they closely resembled each other and had many customs in common, although the several tribes found here by the Europeans were more generally distinguished from each other by the difference in their languages. Each tribe had a name for whatever could be heard, seen or felt, and except these but few words were used.
The same characteristics prevailed in the Indians on the Cape that were found in other tribes, and if any difference existed in minor peculiarities it would be logically attributable to climatic differences and their habits of life and employments, varying with the food sup- plies of mountain or valley, stream or seashore. Some were better agriculturists than others, and raised more corn than their neighbors. The Pilgrims found at Truro fifty acres under cultivation. The labor of raising corn devolved upon the women, or squaws, for all tribes concurred in the idea that labor was degrading and beneath the dig- nity of a warrior. The women provided the wood, erected wigwams, carried the burdens, prepared the meals, and even carried baggage on the march.
A regular union between husband and wife was universal, but a chief of sufficient ability to support such a luxury married, often, more than one wife. The ceremony of marriage was very simple, and differed in minor details in different tribes.
The education of the young warrior was in athletic exercises, to enable him to endure hunger and fatigue, and to use arms efficiently. In some families certain young were impressed with the tradition of their people, which task devolved upon the old, who in turn had received their knowledge from preceding ones.
The weapons were rude — stone hatchets, clubs, bows, arrows and .spears. War was their delight, and their cruelties to enemies when death was decreed were only equalled by their kindness when they turned their tribal affection to the adopted ones.
They had a religion, primitive though it seems, that closely resem- bled that of civilized nations. They believed in a great spirit, and reverenced him ; believed he was everywhere present, knew their wants, and aided and loved those who obeyed him. They had no temples nor idols. They believed the warrior hastened to the happy hunting grounds. They also had an evil spirit, which good Indians should shun. The graves of their fathers were held in reverence, and were defended with great bravery. To the restraints of civilization
14 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
they long showed an aversion, and were remarkably attached to their simple modes of life.
Whether the differences in complexion, stature, features, customs, religions, or any peculiarities, were caused by climate or any latitud- inal separations, one thing seems conceded by historians — that they were of one origin. Doctor Mather regarded them as forlorn and wretched heathen ever since they first landed here ; and " though we know not when or how they first became inhabitants of this mighty continent, yet we may guess that probably the devil decoyed them hither, hoping the gospel would never reach them to disturb or ■destroy his absolute empire over them."
There were several tribes on the Cape, and all evidence from the colony records, from the time they were first visited by Europeans, points to their remarkable friendliness to the whites and to each other.
An early instance of the white man's abuse of their confidence is the shameless record of Thomas Hunt, who in 161fi, as a subordinate left in command, of Captain John Smith's ship, kidnapped twenty- seven of the natives, including seven from Nauset, to sell as slaves. This act was not without precedent, and after it had been avenged four years later upon some of the same crew, the Indian sense of just- ice seems to have been satisfied. In their subsequent intercourse with the pilgrims they performed acts of mercy that could only be expected of true Christian disciples.
The Indians of the Cape, made up of several small tribes, were among the thirty of New England yielding allegiance to Massasoit, the chief of the Wampanoags, and after his death in 1662 to his son, Metacomet, known in history as King Philip, or Philip of Pokanoket.
Of these the Nausets occupied the most prominent position, dwel- ling on the territory now Eastham, their country including also Brewster (Sauquatucket), Chatham (Monomoyick), Harwich (Potanum- aquut), Orleans (Pochet), the neck in Orleans (Tonset), Wellfleet (Po- nonakanet), Truro (Pamet), part of Truro and Provincetown (Mee- shawn) and North Dennis (Nobscusset). The Nausets were also at Namskaket, now Orleans, and about the cove that separates Orleans from Eastham. In the northwest part of Yarmouth and around Barn- stable harbor were Mattacheese and Mattacheeset; the south part of the east precinct in Barnstable, Weequakut ; between Sandwich and Barn- stable, Skanton ; Falmouth, Succonesset ; in Bourne, near Buzzards bay, Manomet ; on Buzzards bay, Cataumet ; near Sandwich, Herring pond, Comassakumkanit ; Pocasset, Pokesit; Mashpee, Massipee — and this last body of Indians has long been the principal tribe of the county, and once inckided Cotuit, the southwest part of Barnstable; Santuit; Wakoquoet, part of Falmouth; Ashumet, in Falmouth, on west line of Mashpee ; and Weesquobs, Great neck. The Indians on Nan-
INDIAN HISTORY.
15
16 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
tucket, Martha's Vineyard and Elizabeth islands were separate tribes, in constant communication with the tribes on the Cape, and had their own sachems. All these tribes had their sachems or sagamores, and though owing fealty to the Wampanoags they could not be induced by King Philip to join in the wars of 1675. The tribe at Manomet, after their adhesion to the English, proveda defense and were faithful to their friendship.
As an evidence of the friendship and hospitality of the Cape Indians, it is said that when the ship Fortune in 1621 touched at Cape Cod, the Indians carried word of her approach to the settlers at Ply- mouth.
In 1622 the colonists were compelled to go to the Cape Indians for corn. They sailed around the Cape, along southerly, anchoring in a harbor at Chatham, and obtained eight hogsheads of corn and beans. During that and subsequent years corn was obtained of the Indians at Sagamore hill, Mattacheese, and other places on the north side.
For these purchases the Indians received trinkets and clothes. Various facts are given that show a friendship beyond the hope of gain. In 1630, when an English vessel was shipwrecked on the Cape, those passengers who died from exposure were carefully buried in the frozen earth to keep the bodies from wild beasts, the sick were nursed to health and the survivors were conducted to Plymouth. The incident of the lost boy — strayed from Plymouth and found among the Nausets — when lyanough with his warriors assisted in the search, and the Nauset sachem, Aspinet, so promptly delivered the boy to the English, is another proof of their friendliness. The various kind oflBces of lyanough upon the departure of the whites — the festival, the filling of their rundlets with fresh water, and the taking the brace- let from his neck and placing it upon the leader of the party — are mat- ters of record in the pilgrim history.
Some of the natives were possessed of such an inherent love of tinsel display that the bounds of Captain Standish's strict doctrines were sometimes overstepped. In 1623, while the captain and his men were at Mattacheese purchasing corn, they were forced to lodge in the wigwams of the natives. Missing a few beads in the morning, he ranged his men around the sachem's cabin and threatened to fall upon the inmates unless the beads were returned. The offender was dis- covered, restitution made, and a penalty for the offense was paid with more corn.
In 1637, when the whites commenced the purchase of lands from the Indians on the Cape, satisfaction was given by full returns of beads, hoes, hatchets, coats and kettles ; but years later, as the number of the Indians was diminished from various causes and the increase of the whites was rapid, the natives could not see their best plantation
INDIAN HISTORY. 17
lands appropriated by others without a protest. Writing of this in its relation to Yarmouth, Hon. C. F. Swift says: "The claims of the Indians were paid in articles which, though of no great commercial value, seemed to be prized by them. The Indians soon became pain- fully aware that their transfer of the soil carried with it a degree of vassalage far from agreeable to their ideas of personal independence. In 1656, Mashantampaigne, a sagamore, was brought before the court on a charge of having stolen a gun. The court held the opinion that the gun was his. He was also accused of having a chest full of tools stolen from the English, and proudly delivered up his keys to Mr. Prince, so that he might search his chest. Complaint was made by John Darby that this sachem's dogs 'did him wrong among his cattle, and did much hurt one of them.' These proceedings are interesting as showing that the Indians, sixteen years after the settle- ment, were completely under subjection to the colonial laws."
Would it be considered foolish in a poor Indian, whose sachem had bargained and given possession to the lands of the tribe, if, when he saw his hunting grounds trespassed upon, he should claim that he had not been paid sufficiently for them ? This claim was often made, of which one instance is referred to in our chapter of charters and deeds.
The colonial laws, made soon after the settlement of the Cape, had much to do with restraining the dissatisfaction or desire of revenge in the breasts of those evil disposed. Fire arms were kept from them and other enactments for mutual preservation were made by the court at Plymouth. The parliament of the mother country afterward, in 1649, passed acts for "promoting and propagating the Gospel among the Indians;" but even the Indians asked " how it happened that Christianity was so important, and for six and twenty years the English had said nothing to them about it?" The Indians were gradually brought under the white man's laws. In 1668, Francis, sachem of Nauset, was fined ;^10 " for uncivil and inhuman words to Captain Allen, at Cape Cod, when cast away." In 1673 the laws were enforced to the extent that natives were worked for debt, drunken ones fined and whipped, idle Indians bound out to labor, and for theft were compelled to pay fourfold. While the poor Indians were taught to heed the laws and religion of the colonists they were restricted in their freedom — forbidden to visit Plymouth during court time, no white was allowed to lend them silver money, and they were placed under many other, to them, humiliating restrictions.
After the dawn of the last century their decrease was rapid. In
1685 Governor Hinckley reported nearly one thousand praying
Indians within the limits of Barnstable county, distributed as follows:
At Pamet, Billingsgate and Nauset, 264; at Monomoyick, 115; at Satucket
2
18 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTRY.
and Nobscusset, 121; at Mattacheese, 70; at Skanton, 51; at Mashpee, 141; at Manomet, 110; and at Succonesset, 72. He also says that be- sides these there were boys and girls under twelve years of age, three times as man}'. In 1698 the commissioners appointed to enu- merate the Indians reported in the territory of the original Plymouth colony — and all told— 1,290, and in 1763 but 905, of which Barnstable county had 515; and in 1798 few lingered, except in Mashpee. The last squaw of Yarmouth is well remembered by the oldest inhabitants there as dwelling on the west bank of Bass river, on a portion of what was once, in the better days of the tribe, the last reservation.
In 1889 Mr. Swift, in writing of Yarmouth, says: There are few memorials or evidences existing of the former occupants of the soil, save the shell heaps near the sea shore and the arrow-heads and stone utensils thrown up by the passing plowshare of the husbandman, ^v- ing evidence of their numbers before the advent of the white man on these shores. Occasionally portions of an Indian skeleton are also found here, but not in sufficient numbers to give evidence of any con- siderable burial place. The last of these who died in considerable numbers, about the time of the revolutionary war, were interred on the eastern borders of Long pond in South Yarmouth, and a pile of unhewn stone maxks the spot, on one of which is chiseled this inscrip- tion:
On this slope lie buried
The last of the Native Indians OF Yarmouth.
Their burial places, of which there are several others on the Cape, have been preserved with a commendable degree of respect by the people of the towns wherein they are located. Over the trail of the swift-footed runner of that departed race now speeds the iron horse, and their hunting grounds are now the sites of flourishing villages.
Their beautiful legends yet linger in the written pages of the white man's lore, and the recurrence of the changes in nature is an index to the unwritten traditions of the Indians. As the fogs creep up from the sound, who can forget their explanation of the phenom- enon ? The Mattacheeset idea was that a great many moons ago a bird of monstrous size visited the south shore of the Cape, carrying oflf pappooses, and even the larger children, to the southward. An Indian giant named Maushop residing in those parts, in his rage at the havoc, pursued the bird, wading across the sound to an hitherto unknown island, where he found the bones of children in heaps around the trunk and under the shade of a great tree. Wishing to smote on his way back, and finding he had no tobacco, he filled his pipe with poke — a weed used afterward by the Indians when tobacco failed — and started across the sound to his home. From this mem-
INDIAN HISTORY. 19
orable event the frequent fogs in Nantucket and on and around Vine- yard sound came; and when the Indians saw a fog rising they would say in their own tongue, which rendered was, " There comes old Mau- shop's smoke."
The Indians about Santuit pond had a legend that a great trout in the South sea wished to visit that pond, and on his way plowed up the land. He turned and wound along, avoiding the large trees and high lands, and arrived at the pond. The water of the sea followed' him and formed the present river. After a rest in the pond he tried to return to the sea, but died from exhaustion, and the Indians cov- ered the trout with earth. It has been called Trout Grave since, and is yet so known in the neighborhood. The river yet flows, and the mound where the legendary trout was covered is still plainly visible on the bank of the river, just west of the residence of Simeon L. Ames of Cotuit.
The Indians had no faithful records of their own times to portray the virtues of their race; but if we look back to the period when the white man's firewater was unknown, when the proud independence which formed the main pillar of their moral fabric was unbroken, then they were a people with as generous impulses, as lofty purposes and as chivalrous deeds as paler men; but an irresistible power seems to have decreed that another people— weaker, yet stronger— should develop on their soil a higher civilization.
CHAPTER III.
DISCOVERY AND EXPLORATIONS.
Early Discovery of the Cape. — Exploration's by Gosnold and Dermer. — The Pilgrims. — The Mayflower in Cape Cod Harbor. — Explorations by the Pilgrims. — Compact Signed. — Plymouth. — The Lost Boy. — Postat Manomet. — Great Storm. — Declaration of Rights. — First Settlement of the Cape by the "Whites. — Sandwich, Barnstable, Yarmouth and Nauset. — Erection of County.
THE history of Barnstable county, if made complete, is of more interest than any other in the Bay state; for Cape Cod was first discovered and first explored, and has sustained its prominence from that early period to the present time. From public records and the most authentic documents, with the carefulness that the import- ance of the work demands, have been compiled the facts of the dis- covery, exploration and settlement of Cape Cod.
The discovery of the Western Continent in 1492 was- the most important event of modern times, and to Columbus and others who followed him the historical monuments already erected will endure as long as the earth itself. Traditions have credited Madoc, a prince of Wales, with a prior discover}', in the Twelfth century; and several historians have discussed the Norwegian claim to its discovery. Eric emigrated from Iceland to Greenland, where he formed a set- tlement in 986. In the year 1000, Lief, a son of Eric, with a crew of men, sailed to the southwest, discovered land, explored the coast southward, entered a bay where he remained diiring the winter, and called it Vinland. In 1007 Thorfinn sailed from Greenland to Vin- land, and the account of his voyage is still extant. From the evidence of this voyage and others that followed, antiquarians have no hesi- tancy in pronouncing this Vinland as the head of Narragansett bay. This is the first tangible evidence of the coasting of the white man along the shores of Cape Cod.
The first discovery by a European of which history can be given, was by Bartholomew Gosnold, an intrepid mariner of the west of England, who, on the 26th of March, 1602, sailed from Falmouth, in Cornwall, in a small bark, with thirty-two men, for a coast called at that time North Virginia. On the 14th of May he made land on the eastern coast of Massachusetts, north of Cape Cod, and sailing south
DISCOVERY AND EXPLORATIONS. 21
on the 15tli, soon found himself " embayed with a mighty headland," which appeared " like an island by reason of the large sound that lay between it and the main." This sound he called Shoal Hope, and near this cape, within a leagfue of land, he came to anchor in fifteen fathoms, and his crew took a great quantity of cod fish, from which circumstance he named the land Cape Cod. The captain with four others went on shore here, where they were met in a friendly way by Indians. This, Bancroft confidently asserts, was the first spot in New England ever trod by Englishmen.
May 16, 1602, Gosnold and his crew coasted southerly until he came to a point where, in attempting to double, he found the water very shoal. To this point he gave the name of Point Care; it is now called Sandy point, and is the extreme southeastern part of Barnstable county. Breakers were seen off Point Gammon, the southern point of Yarmouth.
On the 19th of May Gosnold sailed along the coast westward, sight- ing the high lands of Barnstable and Yarmouth, and discovered and named Martha's Vineyard. From off this island he sailed about the 24th of May, and spent some three weeks in cruising about Buzzards bay. It has been believed that he and his men took up their abode on Cuttyhunk, traded and held friendly relations w,th Indians; but it must have been very brief, for on the 18th of June he sailed from Buzzards bay by the passage through which he entered, and arrived at Exmouth, England, July 23, 1602.
In 1603 De Monts prepared for a voyage, and in 1604 arrived on these western shores, exploring from the St. Lawrence river to Cape Cod and southward.
In 1607 a settlement was attempted at Kennebeck by the Plymouth Company, but the winter of 1607-8 being severe, and many dis- couragements interposing, the survivors returned to England in the following spring. ^
In 1614 Captain John Smith, the celebrated navigator, quitted the colony of South Virginia and sailed along the coast, exploring between Cape Cod and Kennebeck. He made a fine map * of the country, which, upon his return to England, he presented to King Charles, who was so well pleased with the resemblance to his own England that he at once named it " New England." At this time the new possessions were supposed to be an island. The same year Cap- tain Smith returned to London, leaving a ship for Thomas Hunt to command and load with fish for Spain.
In 1619 Sir Fernando Gorges sent Mr. Thomas Dermer to New England. He found a pestilence had swept over the Indian popula- *The celebrated Varazano map of 1518 is sufficiently noticed in the chapter on Provincetown where its author mentions other early navigators. — E^.
22 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTV.
tion, and some villages were utterly depopulated. At Monomoyick (Chatham) Dermer was recognized by an Indian who had been abducted by Hunt, only escaping after receiving fourteen wounds at the hands of the Indians, and after nearly all his boat's crew had been killed — the result of the perfidy of Hunt and others.
While Walter Raleigh and his people made at Jamestown the first permanent settlement in Virginia, and while the Dutch, following Hudson's discovery of 1609, gained a foothold at New Amsterdam, it seemed to be reserved to the religious exiles at Leyden to establish the first permanent settlement in New England and lay the foundations on which should be built the greatest nation of modern times. In 1608 they fled from England to Amsterdam, and thence to Leyden, whence they finally embarked for the Western world.
In 1617 they meditated what was afterward accomplished, but not until two years later were necessary preparations completed, and not until July, 1620, was the first company of these 120 resolute emi- grants in waiting to embark, August sixth, in the two small ships — the Mayflower and Speedwell — at Southampton. The Speedwell proved unseaworthy and was abandoned, thus reducing the number to 101 on board the Mayflower, which, after many delays, left Plymouth, England, September 6, 1620. They intended to go to what was known as Virginia, at or "near the Hudson river, of which, and the surrounding country, Henry Hudson had given a glowing description. After many boisterous storms, on November ninth they reached Cape Cod and as their record said, "The which being made, and certainly known to be it, we were not a little joyful." They bore south, but encounter- ing the same shoals that had turned Gosnold, they returned north- ward and doubled the Cape where now is Provincetown.
On the 11th of November, 1620, after a voyage of sixty-six days, they found that neither their compass nor bible had failed them,, and they anchored within the kindly shelter of New England's great right arm, where many storm-tossed mariners have since sought refuge. There, within the very palm of the hand, they recognized the hand of Providence and kept as pilgrim Christians their first Sabbath in the New World. The day they anchored, sixteen men, headed by Captain Miles Standish, all well armed, went on shore to procure wood and re- connoitre; and repairs upon their shallop were at once commenced, that other and more extensive explorations might be made. The store of fowl in the harbor was very great, and almost daily they saw whales. " The bay is so round and circling, that before we could come to anchor, we went round all the points of the compass." Their nar- rative continues: " We could not come near the shore by three-quarters of an English mile, because of shallow water, which was a great preju- dice to us; for our people were forced to wade * * for it was many times freezing weather."
DISCOVERY AND EXPLORATIONS. 23
After solemnly thanking God, it was proposed that the forty-one males who were of age should subscribe a compact, which was to be the basis of their government. Had all the company been members of the Leyden congregation they could have relied on each other without imposing restraint; but there were many servants, and insub- ordination had manifested itself the day before the Mayflower anchored in the harbor.
Hon. Francis Baylies, in his history of New Plymouth, says that this compact adopted in the cabin of the Mayflower " established a most important principle, a principle which is the foundation of all the democratic institutions of America, and is the basis of the republic." At that dark day of despotism no pen dare write, or tongue assert, that the majority should govern; but these .primitive, discarded Christians, relying upon their Maker for strength and guid- ance, discovered a truth in the science of government which had been dormant for ages; and the principles given and implied in the com- pact unanimously adopted by this little band of Christians — on a bleak shore, in the midst of desolation and wintry blasts — to-day, in all the complications and ramifications of our many branches of fed- eral and state governments, are the happiest and leading character- istics. The following is an exact copy of the compact:
" In the name of God, amen. We whose names are underwritten, the loyal subjects of our dread sovereign lord, King James, by the grace of God, of Great Britain, France, and Ireland king, defender of the faith &c., having undertaken for the glory of God, and advance- ment of the christian faith, and honor of our king and country, a voy- age to plant the first colony in the northern parts of Virginia, do, by these presents, solemnly and mutually, in the presence of God and of one another, covenant and combine ourselves together into a civil body politic, for our better ordering and preservation, and further- ance of the ends aforesaid; and by virtue hereof, do enact, constitute, and frame such just and equal laws, ordinances, acts, constitutions, and offices, from time to time, as shall be thought most meet and con- venient for the general good of the colony, unto which we promise all due submission and obedience.
" In witness whereof, we have hereunder subscribed our names, at Cape Cod, the 11th day of November, in the year of the reign of our sovereign lord. King James, of England, France, and Ireland, the eighteenth, and of Scotland the fifty-fourth, anno Domini 1620."
This compact was signed in the following order. We adopt the idea of Mr. Prince, in his New England Chronology, Vol. I, p. 85, Ed. 1736, in giving the number of each family; also, in placing the * to each who brought his wife, and italicizing every one who died before the first of April, 1621:
24 ' HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
1. Mr. John Carver * 8; 2. Mr. William Bradford * 2; 3. Mr. Ed- ward Winslow,* 6; 4. Mr. William Brewster,* 6; 5. Mr. Isaac Aller- ton,* 6; 6. Capt. Miles Standish * 2; 7. John Alden, 1; 8. Mr. Samuel Fuller, 2; 9. Mr. Christopher Martin* 4; 10. Mr. William Mulletis* 5; 11. Mr. William White* b\ 12. Mr. Richard Warren, 1; 13. John How- land; 14. Mr. Stephen Hopkins * 8; 15. Edward Tilley* 4; 16. John Tilley,* 3; 17. Francis Cooke, 2; 18. Thomas Rogers, 2; 19. Thomas Tinker*^; 20. John Ridgdale,2\ 21. Edward Fuller * ^\ 22. John Tur- ner, 3; 23. Francis Eaton,* 3; 24. James Chilton* 3; 25. John Crackston, 2; 26. John Billington,* 4; 27. Moses Fletcher, 1 ; 28. John Goodman, 1 2^. Degory Priest,!; 30. Thomas Williams,!; 31. Gilbert Winslow, 1 32. Edmund Margeson, 1; 33. Peter Brown, 1; 34. Richard Butteridge,\ 35. George Soule; 36. Richard Clarke, 1; '37. Richard Gardiner, 1; 38. John Allerton, 1; 39. Thomas English, 1; 40. Edward Dotey; 41. Edward Leister.
The same day John Carver was chosen governor for one year, and government was thus regularly established. The legislative and judicial power was in the whole body, and the govemer became the executive.
On the 15th of November sixteen men, well armed, went on shore to explore while the shallop was being repaired; Captain Miles Standish was leader. They found Indians, who fled at their approach. They set sentinels and remained on the Cape over night — supposed from the description to be near Stout's creek. They traveled south from Dyer's swamp to the pond, in Truro. From the Great Hollow they went south to the hill which terminates in Hopkins's cliff, north side of Pamet river in Truro.
On the 27th of November, the shallop being ready, twenty-four men went forth to explore; Captain Jones, of the May flower, 2:0.^ a few sea- men joined the party, making thirty-four in all. They landed at Old Tom's hill, went up the Pamet river, and after three days returned to the ship, carrying corn from the storehouses of the natives.
December sixth another company set sail to explore the Cape, for much anxiety was manifested as to where they should abide. They first landed at Billingsgate point; the next day a portion went by boat and others on shore southward through Eastham. They sailed along the north coast of Cape Cod until Saturday evening, December ninth, when they found a safe harbor under the lee of a small island, called Clark's island from the master's mate, who was the first to land, in Plymouth harbor. Sunday was duly observed with praise and thanks- giving, and on Monday the 11th the harbor was sounded, the land explored, and was deemed the best place for a habitation, and one which the season and their present necessities should make them glad to accept. That day they returned to the ship in Cape Cod harbor with the report of their explorations.
DISCOVERY AND EXPLORATIONS. 25
The question touching the place of settlement had been a vital one, and some even yet thought it best to explore northward from Plymouth before deciding; but upon the return of the second party from Plymouth it was decided to fix their abode there; December 16th the ship sailed for this haven, which, owing to head winds, was not entered till the 16th. Here a history of Barnstable county must necessarily sever connection with them, only so far as their visits and the settlement of a portion of them pertains to the Cape.
In the month of July, 1621, John Billington, a boy from the Ply- mouth colony, was lost, for whom the governor caused inquiry to be made among the Indians. He was found at Nauset (Eastham), where he had been carried and kindly sheltered by the natives, who found him wandering in the woods of Sandwich. A boat was dispatched to bring the boy, but was compelled to anchor over night at Cummaquid (Barnstable harbor). Here, lyanough, the sachem of this part of the Cape, displayed a friendship that could well be denominated a reproof for the acts of Hunt and others who had so unceremoniously taken unbecoming liberties among the tribes of the Cape. He assisted in the recovery of the boy, and promised his friendly adhesion to the colony.
On the 13th of September, 1621, nine sachems subscribed an instru- ment of submission to King James, and among them several of the known Cape sachems; and for years before Barnstable county was settled constant intercourse was kept up with the Cape by the Ply- mouth colony. It became a necessity to often visit the Indian gran- aries in times of dearth. In this intercourse with the tribes of the Cape more or less jealousies and bickerings arose, in which, perhaps, the whites were as much at fault as their Indian neighbors. One instance: In March, 1623, Captain Standish entered Scusset harbor for corn, and conceived the idea that a native of Pamet intended to kill him, but he thwarted any plot, if one had been planned, by a faithful watch. About this time a plot against the colony was sus- pected, which was really an outgrowth of Captain Standish's former suspicion, and resulted in the slaughter by the English of four prom- inent sachems, the head of one of whom was borne to Plymouth and set up on a pole over the fort. The news of such unwonted massacre spread among the natives of the Cape, causing them to feel that no confidence could be placed in those they had befriended, and that any and every one was liable at any moment to become a victim of false accusation, to swell the list of those who had fallen by such a spirit of extermination. Several of the Cape tribes left their abodes, took to the woods and swamps, contracted diseases, and many of the most friendly sachems, including the venerable lyanough, miserably died. As soon as the transaction mentioned in this paragraph was communi-
26 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
cated to Rev. Mr. Robinson, the leader and founder of the Ply- mouth church, at Leyden, he wrote to the governor at Plymouth, beg- ging them " to consider the disposition of their captain, who was a man of warm temper;" also "he trusted the Lord had sent him among them for good, but feared he was wanting in that tenderness of the life of man, made after God's image, which was meet; and it would have been better if they had converted some before they had killed any."
The Cape was important to Plymouth, as touching ground for trading vessels and additional pilgrims. In December, 1626, a ship bound for Virginia was compelled to put in at the nearest point, and ran into Monomoyick (Chatham) bay; here the vessel was wrecked, and the beach was called thenceforward Old Ship. The Indians con- veyed the intelligence of the disaster to Plymouth, in the meantime caring for the unfortunates, and the governor hastened to dispatch a boat with supplies, which were landed at the south side of the bay, at Namskaket creek, whence it was not much over two miles across the Cape to where the ship lay. The Indians carried the supplies across to the suflFerers, and the goods from the broken-up vessel were subse- quently transported to Namskaket and the crew conducted to Plymouth.
In 1627 the colonists established a trading house at Manomet (Bourne), on the south side of Monument river, to facilitate their intercourse with the Narragansett country. New Amsterdam, and the shores of Long Island sound. The trading post was not far from Monument Bridge — the Indian Manomet being corrupted to Monu- ment. By transporting their goods up the creek from Scusset harbor and transferring them a short distance by land they reached the boata- ble waters the other side of the. Cape. Governor Bradford says: " For our greater convenience of trade, to discharge our engagements, and to maintain ourselves, we have built a small pinnace, at Manomet, a place on the sea, twenty miles to the south, to which, by another creek on this side, we transport our goods by water within four or five miles, and then carry them over land to the vessel; thereby avoiding the compassing of Cape Cod, with those dangerous shoals, and make our voyage to the southward with far less time and hazard. For the safety of our vessel and goods we there also built a house and keep some servants, who plant corn, raise swine, and are always ready to go out with the bark — which takes good eflfect and turns to advantage." This proved, as the governor said, an advantage. The first communi- cation between the Plymouth colony and the Dutch at Fort Amster- dam was through this channel. De Razier, the noted merchant, arrived at Manomet in September, 1627, with a ship load of sugar, linen and stuffs; and Governor Bradford sent a boat to Scusset harbor
DISCOVERY AND EXPLORATIONS. 2T
to convey him to Plymouth. As this trading post was temporary, we do not date the settlement of Sandwich at this time.
Still, with additions to their numbers, the sickness and exposures, famine stared the Plymouth colony in the face often, and many instances of calm resignation are recorded in its. early annals. One who came to the governor's house with his tales of suffering, " found- his lordship's last batch in the oven." A good man who asked a neighbor to partake of a dish of clams, after dinner returned " thanks to God, who had given them to suck of the abundance of the seas and of the treasures hid in the sands."
Their first election of executive officers under their first charter was in 1630, at which time the total population of the colony did not exceed three hundred. There was no scramble for ofiBce, and in 1631 it was found necessary to enact that " if, now, or hereafter any person, chosen to the office of governor refuse, he shall be fined twenty pounds; and that if a councillor, or magistrate, chosen refuse, he shall be fined ten pounds; and in case this be not paid on demand, it shall be levied out of said person's goods or chattels." We must except this one peculiarity from the many sterling principles implanted in our government customs, but not censure our Puritan ancestors for the departure taken by the present-day politicians in their unjust scramble for office.
Governor Bradford thus describes a great storm, in the annals of the colony:
August 16,1635. — "A mighty storm of wind and rain as none living in these parts, either English or Indians, ever saw. It began in the morning a little before day, and came with great violence, causing the sea to swell above twenty feet right up, and made many in- habitants climb into the trees. It took off the roof of a house belong- ing to the plantation at Manomet, and put it in another place. Had the storm continued without shifting of the wind, it would have drowned some parts of the country. It blew down many thousands of trees, turning up the stronger by the roots, breaking the higher pines in the middle, and winding small oaks and walnuts of good size as withes. It began southeast, and parted towards the south and east, and veered sundry ways. The wrecks of it will remain a hun- dred years. The moon suffered a great eclipse the second night after it." The destruction on the Cape was even greater than on the main land.
Since the simple compact of 1620 no constitution or other instru- ment for the government of the colony had been made. The code of Moses seemed to be paramount to any code of England. The power of the church was superior. As trade expanded it was evident that civil authorityj and not church censure, must extend its strong power
28 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
over the colony to. check the often recurring conflictions of trade and growing selfishness of man's nature; therefore on the ISth of November, 1636, the court of associates first set forth the following declaration of rights — the first real one of the New World :
" We, the Associgites of New Plymouth, coming hither as free-bom subjects of the state of England, and endowed with all and singular the privileges belonging to such, being assembled, do ordain that, no act, imposition, law, or ordinance, be made or imposed on us, at the present or to come, but shall be made or imposed by consent of the body of Associates, or their representatives, legally assembled, — which is according to the liberties of the state of England."
Thus was established our present form of representation; and as all rights of parliament to legislate for them were renounced, they proceeded to provide for the emergency. It was enacted: " That on the first Tuesday in June, annually, an election shall be held for the choice of Governor, and assistants, to rule and govern the plantation."
The franchise was confined to those admitted as freemen, to whom a stringent oath was prescribed. And they must be " Orthodox in the fundamentals of religion " and " possessed of a ratable estate of twenty pounds." The votes were to be given by person or by proxy at Plymouth, and no person was to live, or inhabit, within the govern- ment of New Plymouth " without the leave and liking of the Gov- ernor and Assistants." A constable was to be elected who had power to serve "according to that measure of wisdom, understanding, and discretion as God has given you," and had power to arrest, without precept, "all suspicious persons." Capital offenses were treason, murder, diabolical converse, arson and rape.
At this date (1636) the only towns settled were Plymouth, Duxbury and Scituate. The Cape was still the home of the same Indian tribes who had been ruled, ostensibly, by the colony, and had maintained a very friendly trade and seeming allegiance. But the year 1637 was to see the first settlement by the whites upon the Cape.
April 3, 1637, a settlement was commenced at Sandwich, although the plantation was not recognized as a town until two years later. These persons were chiefly from Lynn (Saug^s), with a few from Duxbury and Plymouth. The permit, or grant, must be given by the general court, and the record was made that they "shall have liberty to view a place to sit down, and have sufiScient lands for three-score families, upon the conditions propounded to them by the Governor and Mr. Winslow." These freemen had undergone the most rigid oaths and examinations to obtain this permission, and very early Mr. John Alden and Captain Miles Standish were sent to "set forth the bounds of the lands granted there." They were to see that the qual- ifications of " housekeeping " were strictly conformed to; and singu-
DISCOVERY AND EXPLORATIONS. 29
larly enough it was found that Joseph Winsor and Anthony Besse, at Sandwich, were disorderly keeping house — alone — and were pre- sented to the court. While the growing settlements of the Cape were under Plymouth government we find no flagrant transgressions of their stringent laws — the whole code — from that forbidding, by heavy punishment, " the inveigling of men's daughter, etc.," down to that of "allowing no swine to go at large without ringing them."
As early as August,.1638, liberty was given Mr. Stephen Hopkins to erect a house at Mattacheese and cut hay there to winter his cattle — provided it do not withdraw him from Plymouth. Again permission granted, September third, to Gabriel Weldon and Gregory Armstrong to go and dwell at Yarmouth; and then it is said, " the people of Lynn having established a settlement at Sandwich, an attempt was made from the same quarter to establish another at Yarmouth." First in the work was Rev. Stephen Batchelor, aged 76 years, who trav- eled the distance from Lynn to the east part of Barnstable on foot. The records show that this attempt failed from the difficulties that attended it, and the next year other parties had the honor of first erecting their cabins in the wilderness of the present Barnstable and Yarmouth.
The Indian Mattacheese extended quite a distance within the present limits of Barnstable, and among the many settlers of the sum- mer of 1639 the territory of Barnstable, Yarmouth and Dennis became settled. The northeastern part was called Hockanom, yet another part of the ancient settlement was called Sesuet — since East Dennis. The names of these grantees of Mattacheese are found in the chapters of Barnstable and Yarmouth.
In this year, 1639, so many had migrated to the towns of Barnsta- ble, Yarmouth and Sandwich, that they were invested with the rights of towns and were each entitled to two delegates to an assembly for legislation. In October of the same year the authorities at Plymouth ordered a pound to be erected at Yarmouth, and established there a pair of stocks. The stocks of that day, in which the petty offenders were compelled to sit, were one of the mediums through which the Plymouth court would impress a notion of its dignity upon any who disregarded its authority.
In 1641 the active ministers of Barnstable, Sandwich and Yarmouth were John Laythorpe [Lothrop], John Mayo, William Leverich, John Miller and Marmaduke Matthews. These each bore the title of Mister, that insignia of Puritan importance which at that time was only applied to the learned and the wealthy.
The first assessment for the expenses of the general court was levied in June, 1641, upon the eight towns then constituting the col- ony. To produce ;^25, Plymouth was assessed £5, Duxbury £^, 10,
30 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
Scituate £4, Sandwich £3, Yarmouth, Barnstable and Taunton each £2, 10, and Marshfield £2.
In 1644 the project of removing the Plymouth government to Nauset on the Cape was again agitated, and Governor Bradford and others were sent to locate a site. They purchased lands of the sachems of Nauset and Monomoyick, and permission was given to the Ply- mouth church for a new location. A part of the church only removed, -and in April the new settlement was commenced at Nauset. Secre- tary Morton said of it, " divers of the considecablest of the church and town removed." The prominent men who removed are noticed in the history of Eastham.
In 1646 the Cape furnished two of the governor's assistants — Mr. Thomas Prince of Nauset and Edmund Freeman of Sandwich — and the towns were ordered by the general court to have a clerk to keep a register of births, marriages and burials.
In 1647 progress was made in extending the Nauset and other set- tlements, both on the territory between Eastham and Dennis, and toward Provincetown. Prior to the settlement at Nauset, three years before, all of the territory below Dennis was occupied by Indians; but ■during the year 1653 Brewster was settled. It would also seem that the Cape had at least one mill at Sandwich, and that the miller was presented, in 1648, for not having a toll-dish sealed "according to order."
In 1651 quite a number of the best citizens of Sandwich, " for not frequenting the public worship of God," were presented, and in 1652 Ralph Allen, sr., and Richard Kerby of Sandwich were presented """for speaking deridingly against God's word and ordinances." It would seem by the fining of the citizens that already the Cape people had commenced a move in the right direction, and would be worship- ping God properly by not heeding such rules and tenets as had been made by the rulers.
The most convenient road from Sandwich to Plymouth was laid out in 1652, by order of the court to Mr. Prince and Captain Standish to empanel a jury. This was done, and the highway began " at Sandwich, leaving Goodman Black's house on the right hand, running -across the swamp, over the river, and so on, in a nor-north-west line falling upon Eel River." April 1, 1663, delegates were sent from Barnstable, Eastham, Yarmouth and Sandwich to meet the court "to conclude on military aflfairs." Sandwich furnished six men, Yarmouth six, Barnstable six and Eastham three, for military purposes. In 1653 the first coined money of the New World was put into circu- lation, and the historical pine-tree shilling was the veritable money mentioned; it was coined by Massachusetts and was in circulation on the Cape.
DISCOVERY AND EXPLORATIONS. 31
These four towns, frequently mentioned, and being then the only Cape towns incorporated, remained under the Plymouth government until 1685, when that colony was divided into three counties — Ply- mouth, Bristol and Barnstable. The growth in settlement was rapid, as the Cape possessed its own local and peculiar advantages. Thus the white man's presence, the white man's enterprise and the social life which they implied gradually but surely took their permanent place on the Cape, and the elimination of the red man as a factor in human affairs here was rapidly accomplished.
CHAPTER IV.
CHARTERS, GRANTS AND INDIAN DEEDS.
Spanish Claims. — Cabot's Discoveries. — Plymouth Company. — Council of Plymouth. — The Pilgrims.— Patent of 1629-30.— Settlement of the Cape Towns and Purcliases from the Indians. — Charter of 1691.
BY virtue of the discovery by Columbus, followed by a grant from the pope and a general treaty with Portugal, Spain made a claim to the whole continent of America, excepting Brazil, which was granted to Portugal in the treaty. This assumption excited the cupidity and curiosity of other European powers, and expeditions of discovery were at once fitted out by France and England. John Cabot, in 1496, set sail from Bristol, England, with full authority to take pos- session, in the name of the king, of all lands and islands he might discover. He sailed to the present coast of New England, and under the doctrine that newly discovered countries belong to the discov- erers, England put forward a claim to extensive regions of North America, a portion of which they subsequently settled; but the colon- ization necessary to complete the title by discovery was delayed, and eight years elapsed before the English made attempts to settle these lands to which they had such a questionable right.
The first charter of Virginia, in 1606, contemplated the planting of two colonies. The persons mentioned in the charter of the second or northern colony were: Thomas Hanham, Raleigh Gilbert, William Parker and George Popham, while others not mentioned were active in the company. In 1607 futile attempts were made by this Plymouth Company — the name given to the one for the settlement of northern. Virginia — to plant a colony at the mouth of the Kennebec river.
The French also put forward a claim to certain portions of the New England territory, and under a patent which France had granted to De Monts, they made a settlement at Port Royal; but Argall, for the English, burned it in 1613. Among these attempts to settle, under the patents of royalty, it was seemingly destined that a feeble band of persecuted religionists, providentally thrown upon its shores, should make the first permanent settlement within the limits of the new province.
CHARTERS, GRANTS AND INDIAN DEEDS. 33
The Virginia company having renewed their charter, in 1619 — the first having been forfeited by the attainder of Sir Walter Raleigh — a company was formed at London which applied for a similar grant of the northern part of the so-called Virginia. This company, well known in law and in history as the Council of Plymouth, was com- posed of forty men, who had combined and engaged to invest money in this new enterprise. After nearly two years' solicitation this com- pany succeeded, November 3, 1620, in obtaining a charter from King James I., which put that part of North America between the 40th and 48th degrees of north latitude, except " all places actually possessed by any other Christian prince or people," into their absolute control.
This company was composed of the Duke of Lenox, Marquis of Buckingham, Marquis of Hamilton, Earl of Arundel, Earl of War- wick, Sir Fernando Gorges and thirty-four merchants, incorporated as " The Council established at Plymouth, in the county of Devon, for the planting, ruling, ordering, and governing of New England, in America." This company, although formed prior to the departure of the Mayflower, did not receive from the crown the promised charter until about one week before- that vessel had dropped anchor in Cape Cod harbor. The occupants of the Mayflower, finding themselves out of the jurisdiction of the Virginia company, under whose permission they had expected to form their settlement, they entered into the agreement in the cabin, as described in the previous chapter. The Mayflower returned to England in the spring of 1621, and the Council of Plymouth then learned that the pilgrims had formed a settlement upon territory included within their charter. The council were quite ready to take them under their protection, and the colonists were de- sirous of receiving it, if a grant of territory could be procured. When the Mayflower sailed from the Old World, many who came obtained aid from Thomas Weston and others, called Merchant Adventurers. This aid was to each man, or boy of sixteen, ;^10 for transportation and outfit, which sum entitled the Adventurers to one-half interest or share in all the lands, profits and labors of the person so aided for the term of seven years.
The first patent for the pilgrims, as promised by the Council of Plymouth, of which any record is given, bears date June 1, 1621. This was obtained by John Pierce and his associates ostensibly for the in- fant colony, but was never delivered. Its conditions were onerous;-- but in consideration that the pilgrims were hopefully settled, the same individual sought another patent, in 1623, which would insure a gfreater degree of success to his own selfishness. After two several attempts to cross the Atlantic with the second charter in his posses- sion, upon his return to England he was persuaded to relinquish it to the council.
34 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
The pilgrims of 1620 received no patent for their lands until 1629- 30. The accrued indebtedness to the Merchant Adventurers at the expiration of the seven years was ;^1, 800, which was assumed in 1627, and bonds for payment given extending over a period of nine years. The eight of the colonists who assumed the indebtedness were Gov- ernor Bradford, Edward Winslow, Thomas Prince, Miles Standish, William Brewster, John Alden, John Rowland and Isaac Allerton, and to these persons a patent was issued by the Council of Plymouth January 13, 1629-30, after three voyages by Mr. Allerton to England for its procurement.
" The Council of New England, in consideration that Wm. Bradford and his associates have for these nine years lived in New England, and there have planted a town called New Plymouth, at their own charges, — and now seeing that, by the special providence of God and their extraordinary care and industry, they have increased their plan- tation to near three hundred people * * * , do therefore seal a patent to the said Wm. Bradford, his heirs, associates, and assigns of all that part of New England on the east side of a line drawn north- erly from the mouth of the Narraganset river and southerly of a line drawn westerly from the Cohasset rivulet to meet the other line at the uttermost limits of country called Pocanoket." A tract on the Kennebec was also included. This grant comprised the entire Cape with all prerogatives, rights, royalties, jurisdictions and immunities; also marine franchises that the council had, or ought to have, with privileges of incorporation by laws and constitutions not contrary to those of England.
This, the first charter received giving the pilgrims any definite territory, was granted to Mr. Bradford and his associates who had bound themselves to pay the indebtedness of the colony. This patent was missing for many years, and is said to have been found in 1741 among Governor Bradford's papers.
In 1640 the general court desired that William Bradford should make to them a surrender of the charter, which he willingly did. In Bradford's History of Plymouth Plantation, page 372, these quaint words of the instrument may be found:
"Whereas William Bradford, and diverce others ye first instru- ments of God in the begining of this great work of plantation, to- ^eather with such as ye all adoring hand of God in his providence soone added unto them, have been at very great charges to procure ye lands, priviledges, & freedoms from all intanglements of grants, purchases, and payments of debts, &c., by reason whereof ye title to ye day of these presents remaineth in ye said William Bradford, his heires, associats, and assignes: now, for ye better settling of ye estate of the said lands (contained in ye grant or pattente,) the said William
CHARTERS, GRANTS AND INDIAN DEEDS. 35
Bradford, and those first instruments termed & called in sundry or- ders upon public recorde, ye Purchasers, or Old comers; witnes 2, in spetiall, the one bearing date ye 3. of March, 1639, the other in Des: the 1, Ano 1640, whereunto the presents have spetiall rela- tion and agreemente, and wherby they are distinguished from other ye freemen & inhabitants of ye said corporation. Be it knowne unto all men, therfore, by these presents, that the said William Bradford, for him selfe, his heires, together with ye said pur- chasers, doe only reserve unto them selves, their heires, and as- signes, those 3 tractes of land mentioned in ye said resolution, order, and agreemente, bearing date ye first of Des: 1640. viz. first, from ye bounds of Yarmouth 3 miles to ye eastward of Naem- schatet, and from sea to sea, cross the neck of land."
Two other tracts of land were also reserved, and the closing words of the long document are: " In witness wherof, the said William Bradford hath in publick courte surrendered the said let- ters patents actually into ye hands & power of ye said courte, binding him selfe, his heires, executors, administrators, and assignes to deliver up whatsoever spetialties are in his hands that doe or may concerne the same."
It was conceded that the Indians had a natural right or title in the lands, which must be obtained by the settlers after the court had granted them permission to establish a plantation. A verbal grant from the Indians was at first considered sufficient, but subsequently the title from the natives was passed by instruments, which were legal in their form, whether they were understood by the natives or not. Doctor Holmes in his annals quotes the words of Governor Winslow, " that the English did not possess one foot of land in the colony but was fairly obtained by honest purchase from the Indian proprietors."
The first permission to settle on the Cape was given by the Ply- mouth colony on the 3d of April, 1637, under which so-called grant the first settlement at Sandwich was begun, and a committee was ap- pointed to procure of the Indians a title to the lands. Grants were given in 1639 for the settlement of Mattacheese — now Barnstable, Yarmouth and Dennis. In settling these plantations a suitable loca- tion was first purchased of the Indians; and subsequently, as occasion required, deeds of adjoining territory were obtained. Reservations were made for the Indians, provided that if they sell it be to the in- habitants of the plantation; and, although all purchases were carefully made by a committee appointed by court, misunderstandings arose between the whites and Indians. In 1641, after purchasing of Ne- paiton lands in Barnstable, other agreements were made to build for him, " in addition to what said Nepaiton hath already had one dwel-
36 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
ling house with a chamber floored with boards, with a chimney and an oven therein."
A deed or receipt, probably written by Anthony Thacher, for lands in Yarmouth, will acquaint the reader with the form used when other claimants might appear : " Witnesseth these presents, that I, Masshantampaigne, Sagamore, doth acknowledge that I have received and had of Anthony Thacher, John Crow, and Thomas Howes, all and every particular thing and things that I was to have for all and every part and parcel of lands: * * * which said lands I sold to Mr. William Bradford. I say I acknowledge myself fully satisfied and paid * * and I do forever acquit the said Thatcher, Crow, and Howes. In witness whereof, etc.. May 8, 1657." To this the sachem named made his mark in presence of witnesses, who also signed the deed as such; and one or more of these witnesses certified in 1674, before an ofiScer, that the sa- chem "set his hand to it" and "he heard him own it." In similar form and import were deeds or receipts given by lyanough and sachems of the South sea Indians. In 1640 a grant for the settlement of Nau- set, and subsequently one for Monomoyick, were obtained from the Plymouth court. Deeds were obtained from the sachems Quason, Mattaquason and George, and the towns of Eastham, Orleans, Well- fleet and Chatham were subsequently organized. Falmouth and Har- wich still later were purchased in the same manner. In 1660 a tract of 10,500 acres was granted for the exclusive use of the Massipees, and the following year a large tract was granted to Richard Bourne at the west of the Massipee lands. The court gave grants for many smaller portions of land during the growth of the towns on the Cape, and in 1655, by order of the court, every town was required to pur- chase a book in which all titles of land should be recorded. These were called " proprietors' records," and were very essential prior to the formation of the county and establishment of an office ior the registry of deeds.
The usurpations of power by Andros in 1686, his declaration that " Indian deeds were no better than the scratch of a bear's paw," and his summons for the surrender of charters, occasioned alarm to the coloni.sts of the Cape, as well as the main land. In 1690 the Rev. Ichabod Wiswall and others from this colony went to England to ob- tain a restoration of the old or solicit a new charter. The restoration of the old was refused and a new one promised. The towns of Barn- stable county paid their proportion of the expenses to obtain a new charter.
The charter of October 7, 1691, granted by William and Mary, united the colonies of the Massachusetts Bay, the province of Maine, Acadia, and New Plymouth, including the Cape, into one province, called the Province of the Massachusetts Bay in New England. Four
CHARTERS, GRANTS AND INDIAN DEEDS. 37
of the twenty-eight councillors elected were to be from the former New Plymouth, which gave to the Cape its representation, and in 1692 the new privileges were enjoyed after the arrival of Sir William Phipps, the new governor, with the charter.
The only privilege reserved to the consolidated colonies by the new charter was the right of choosing representatives by the people, the crown reserving the right of appointing the governor, lieutenant governor and secretary. From the first settlement of the Cape until 1692 this part of the colony of Plymouth bore its full share of priv- ileges under the charters enumerated; and then, when included in the Massachusetts charter, this county was ably represented in public affairs and responsibilities. The governors were appointed by the crown, during the existence of the last charter, until October 26, 1780, when the federal constitution became the supreme law, vesting all powers in the people and annulling all charters.
CHAPTER V.
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS.
Basis of Civil Government.— Erection of the County.— Political History.— Councillors — Senators.- Representatives.- Sheriffs.— Registers.— County Institutions.— Federal Institutions. — Custom House. — Lighthouses.- Life Saving Service.
THE desire for religious freedom possessed by our ancestors, not- withstanding their peculiar inconsistencies as they seem to us of the present day, established on a broad and comprehensive basis the idea of civil liberty. Colonies were settled by churches, and as such the religious body instituted the law and government. No one could be a freeman and co-operate in the affairs of the church or the body politic unless he was a church member; and under this rule the church gave or refused him the right to settle. The tyranny of the hierarchy drove the Puritans to this shore; this spirit, continued by the Puritans, forced malcontents to found new plantations where they could establish civil and religious liberty for themselves, and this has thrown open to the land the gates of liberty, never to be again closed. In 1636, when the trade of the original colony had con- siderably increased and other plantations were about to be established, the court of associates set forth the first declaration of rights, which ordained that no act, imposition, law or ordinance should be imposed on the colonists, at that or any future time, without the consent of the body of associates or their representatives, legally assembled. Enact- ments were made the same year regarding the election at Plymouth of a governor and assistants by the freemen in person, or by proxy, and the trial of important suits or offenses by jury. Religion was in- tended to be the basis of both civil and ecclesiastical government; but here in the remote wilderness these pilgrims first conceived and ex- emplified the principle that the will of the majority shall govern — the foundation of American liberty. In planting a church they founded an empire.
The first and each succeeding plantation established upon territory embraced in Barnstable county was composed of people imbued with these principles, from which have arisen the present town govern- ments.
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS.
39
In 1643 the towns then existing on the Cape as part of the Ply- mouth colony were joined with others in the confederation of the United Colonies of New England, which, with some slight changes, was continued until 1685, when the charters of the several colonies of the province were, in effect, vacated by a commission of King James II. The spirit of confederation had taught the colonies to act together when common dangers had menaced, and here was the germ
of the present national system, reserving to the towns their own local government.
In the division of Plymouth colony into three counties — Plymouth, Bristol and Barnstable — in 1685, the county of Barnstable was incor- porated June second. The history of this county in its relation to the European race may be dated from its first exploration; but its civil history must be regarded as beginning with its incorporation in 1685. Sandwich, Barnstable, Yarmouth and Eastham had been previously
40 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
incorporated as towns; Falmouth, Harwich, Truro and Monomoy, soon after made towns, were plantations assuming rights of self govern- ment; and since the formation of the county, Mashpee has been in- corporated, Wellfleet and Orleans set off from Eastham, Brewster from Harwich, Dennis from Yarmouth, and Bourne from Sandwich. Sippecan, or Rochester, was temporarily annexed to this county, but was transferred to Plymouth county.
Barnstable was designated as the shire town, where a court house was at once erected adjoining the old training ground on the south side of the county road, and nearly opposite the site of the present Baptist church in Barnstable village. The second court house was erected in 1774, and after the completion of the present court house it was purchased by the Baptist society, turned to face westward, and remodeled to its present form, and since has been the Baptist church of the village. The officers for the new county were appointed at its incorporation, and the body corporate assumed its distinctive civil jurisdiction over the same territory now comprising its more numer- ous towns.
In 1691 the rights of general suffrage and more liberal local legis- lation in the towns were guaranteed by the accession to the English throne of William and Mary, who united the colonies and formed the province of Massachusetts Bay. The powers of the towns were in- creased, and the New England town system became a model for municipal imitation, inaugurating a method of control over local affairs that should regulate, like the governor of the engine, the entire machinery of the government. The county, as a confederation of towns with sovereign powers, is a concentration of these corporate bodies, combining increased strength that shall comparatively more advance the social and civil affairs of the body politic.
An attempt was made in 1734, by petitions in behalf of the lower towns, to have the county divided and those towns set off as a distinct county; but failing in this, the towns petitioned for the abolishment of some of the courts annually held at the court house. In the civil history of the county no bitter party strife has interrupted the har- monious execution of its duly constituted powers, and especially may this assertion be applied to its history since 1774. At that date the term whig was given to those who were in favor of resisting the tax- ations and aggressions of Great Britain; and to those who were will- ing to acquiesce in the demands the name tory was applied. Among other exactions Great Britain assumed the right to appoint the council, and also gave the sheriff the right to appoint the jurors — rights be- longing to and that had long been enjoyed by the body politic. This aroused the indignation of many of the whigs of the upper part of the county, who determined to prevent the September sitting of the
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 41
court of common pleas, and to this end hastened to Barnstable. The concourse of people that had gathered on the way, and had been in- creased by additions at the county seat, took possession of the grounds in front of the court house to await the arrival of the judges to open the court. When the judges appeared they were warned not to open the session, not to assemble as a court nor do any business as such. The people were assured by the judges that the jurors had beein drawn from the boxes and the court was legal; but the people per- sisted in their determined opposition and the session was not held. Later, the military and civil officers of the county who held appoint- ments under the king were requested to resign, with which request they willingly complied. This spirit was abandoned soon after the declar- ation of peace between the countries, as also were the names with which the parties had stigmatized each other. The revolt of the col- onies and their confederation enlarged the powers and increased the strength of the existing corporate bodies, in the enjoyment of which Barnstable county is no exception.
Soon after those stirring times a county building was erected on the high ground just east of the Sturgis library building in Barnstable, which contained rooms for the register of deeds and other county officers, as the second court house was used for courts only. The burning of this edifice during the night of October 22-3, lb27, was the most serious calamity that has befallen the county. On the fly- leaf or cover of volume 1 of the present records the following account is written: " The first record of a deed in the county was made Octo- ber 5, 1686, by Joseph Lothrop, Register. Previous to that the records of deeds were made at Plymouth in the old Colony Records. Since then 94 volumes had been filled. On the night of October 22, 1827, the brick building erected some years before by the county, and which was occupied by the clerk of the Judicial and Probate Courts, and the Register of deeds for the county, was burned. One volume. No. 61, of the record was .saved; ninety-three were burned with a large number of deeds in the office." Besides the contents of the register's office, volumes 29, 44 and 46 of the probate records, and other valuable records and papers were destroyed. To remedy this loss, and take measures for the erection of new buildings, an extra term of the court of sessions was held January 16, 1828, which was followed, March 10, by an act of the general court, making it " the duty of the selectmen of each town to cause to be fairly recorded all deeds for conveyance of any real estate or any interest therein, lying in their respective towns, which shall be brought to them for the pur- pose, and which shall bear date not more than forty years back and have been recorded in the registry of deeds of the county before the 23d of Octobor last; the said books of record then to be deposited in
42 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
the office of the registry of deeds for the county," and to be as effectual in law as the first records destroyed by the fire." As the result of the act several volumes of records were accumulated, which, with the rapidly increasing volumes of the usual registry, fill the available space of the register's office.
In 1828 arrangements for the erection of the present court house were perfected by the county, and in its erection the people have taken the precaution to have each of its offices fire proof. It is a neat and substantial stone building, with ample accommodations for all courts and other business of the county. The first payment on the contract for its erection was ordered by the county commissioners in September, 1831, and the last in July, 1834. The historic bell, sold to the county for the court house by the church in Sandwich, in 1763, is preserved with care, and may be seen hanging from an arch in the office of the clerk of the court.
The exact date of the erection of the first jail can not be deter- mined. The loss of the records of the county has, without doubt, ex- tinguished all recorded evidence, and the date cannot be determined by tradition. In 1686 we find a court was called by proper authority to consider the erection of a jail or place of confinement in each of the new counties. Whenever erected it was a primitive concern, and stood upon what is known as Jail -street, near the premises of Gus- tavus A. Hinckley, Barnstable; and about 1820 the second was erected near the first, and was a substantial stone structure, used as a iail un- til 1878, when the material was utilized in the foundation of the en- largement of the present court house. The present jail, in rear of the court house, was erected in 1878, and the prisoners were trans- ferred to it on the 16th of May, 1879.
Councillors.— This office was created by the charter of William and Mary in 1691, and the following year, under Governor Phipps, these officers were first elected. Of the governor's council four of the number were elected from that portion of the province formerly known as Plymouth colony, and of these two were chosen from this county, and one other had formerly resided here. From the adoption of the state constitution until 1840 the governor's council each year consisted of nine persons, chosen by the legislature from those elected as senators and councillors. By the Thirteenth amendment, promul- gated in April, 1840, the nine councillors were for fifteen years chos6n by the legislature from among the people at large, but the Sixteenth amendment, promulgated in May, 1856, inaugurated the present sys- tem, whereby the state is divided into eight districts, each of which annually elects one of the councillors. Prior to 1855 Elijah Swift of Falmouth, Seth Crowell of Dennis, Solomon Davis of Truro, and John Kenrick of Orleans had been councillors, each two years. Barnstable
PBINT. E. BIEH3TADT, N.
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 43
county has, since 1855, formed a part of the First district. The fol- lowing named residents of this county have been members of the executive council since the state was divided into councillor districts: Charles F. Swift of Yarmouth, iu 1860; Marshall S. Underwood of Dennis, in 1869-1871; Joseph K. Baker of Dennis, in 1875-1878.
The present councillor from this district is Isaac N. Keith* of Bourne, who was elected in 1888 and re-elected in 1889. He is a lineal descendant of Rev. James Keith, who came to America about 1660, and was settled in the ministry at Bridgewater, where he labored fifty-six years, and where he died in 1719, aged seventy-six. From him are descended all who bear his family name in this country. The family, which is a very ancient one, came originally from Scotland. The following historical sketch is from the " Peerage of Scotland," published at Edinburgh in 1834. " This ancient family derived its origin frjom one Robert, a chieftain among the Catti, from which came the surname Keith. At the battle of Panbridge, in 1006, he slew with his own hands Camus, general of the Danes; and King Malcom, perceiving this achievement, dipped his fingers in Camus' blood and drew red strokes or pales on the top of Robert's shield, which have ever since been the armorial bearings of his descendants. In 1010 he was made hereditary Marischal of Scotland, and was rewarded with a barony in East Lothian, which was called Keith-Marischal after his own name." It should be said that Rev. James Keith was educated at Marischal College. Aberdeen, an institution founded by one of the family, George, fifth Earl.
The father of Mr. Keith was Isaac, who was born at Tamworth Iron Works, N. H., July 13, 1807, and removed to Bridgewater, the home of his ancestors, in 1814. He came to Sandwich in 1828, and settled in West Sandwich, now Sagamore, in the town of Bourne, commencing business therewith one Mr. Ryder, under the firm name of Ryder & Keith, carriage manufacturers. Mr. Ryder retiring from the firm in 1830, from that time until his death Mr. Keith conducted the business under his own name, laying the foundation of the present Keith Manufacturing Company. Mr. Keith was a prominent and estimable citizen, always interested in the welfare of the town of his adoption. He was married in 1829 to Delia B. Swift of Sandwich. He died April 8, 1870, leaving two daughters and two sons. The youngest is Isaac N., the subject of this sketch, who was born November 14, 1838.
He was educated in the public schools of Sandwich. In 1858 he learned the business of telegraphy, which he followed for two years; was then chosen superintendent of the Cape Cod and Cape Ann dis- tricts of the American Telegraph Company. September 7, 1865, he
* This sketch of Mr. Keith is by his friend and neighbor, Charles Dillingham. The Councillor's home at Sagamore is the subject of an illustration in the history of that village.
44 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
was married to Miss Eliza Frances Smith, daughter of Eben S. Smith, Esq., of Provincetown. In October, 1867, he resigned his position with the telegraph company and commenced with his father the busi- ness of railway car manufacturing, of which he is now the sole owner and general manager. In these days of labor troubles, his relations with his employees have always been of the most pleasant character. His sound judgment, business capacity and strict integrity have secured to him a large property as well as the high esteem and confidence of his fellow townsmen and business acquaintances. As an evidence of this it may not be out of place to mention that when- ever he has been presented to the electors of his native town he has invariably run ahead of his ticket. Mr. Keith was twice elected to the Massachusetts house of representatives, 1874 and 1875; twice sen- ator from the Cape Senatorial District, 1886 and 1887; and in 1888 and again in 1889 was elected one of the executive council from the First Councillor district, which office he now holds.
If it ever be allowable to write of the living, what perhaps more appropriately belongs to the province of the historian, it can truth- fully be said of Mr. Keith, that the ancient motto of the family, ''Veritas Vincit," has never suffered violence at his hands.
Senators. — The constitution of 1780, providing that the senate should consist of forty members, made Barnstable county- a district entitled to elect annually one senator. By frequent re-elections six- teen men only were elected within the first sixty years. Their names and the term of service, with year of first election, were: 1780, Solo- mon Freeman, Harwich, 19 years; 1788, Thomas Smith, Sandwich, 1; 1798, David Thacher, Yarmouth, 1; 1801, John Dillingham, Har- wich, 6; 1804, Richard Sears, Chatham, 1; 1806, James Freeman, Sand- wich, 2; 1808, Joseph Dimmick, Falmouth, 3; 1811, Timothy Phinney, Barnstable, 1; 1813, Wendell Davis, Sandwich, 2; 1815, Solomon Free- man, Brewster, 6; 1821, Elijah Cobb, Brewster, 2; 1823, Braddock Dimmick, Falmouth, 3; 1826, Nymphas Marston, Barnstable, 2; 1828, Elisba Pope, Sandwich, 4; 1831, John Doane, Orleans, 3; 1834, Charles Marston, Barnstable, 6.
By the terms of the Thirteenth amendment to the constitution, promulgated April, 1840, the county was for seventeen years entitled to two seats in the state senate. They were occupied by the follow- ing named persons, the number of years noted after each: 1841, Seth Crowell, Dennis, 2 years; 1841, Charles Marston, Barnstable, 1; 1842, Solomon Davis, Truro, 4; 1843, John B. Dillingham, Sandwich, 2; 1846, Zeno Scudder, Barnstable, 3; 1846, Barnabas Freeman, Eastham, 2; 1848, George Copeland, Brewster, 2; 1849, John Jenkins, Falmouth, 2; 1850, Stephen Hilliard, Provincetown, 2; 1851, Zenas D. Basssett, Barnstable, 2; 1852, Cyrus Weeks, Harwich, 2; 1853, James B. Crocker,
(ytat^
PRINT. 6 BrEHSTAOT,
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 45
Barnstable, 2; 1854, Robert Y. Paine, Wellfleet, 1; 1855, Sylvester Baxter, Yarmouth, 2; 1855, Lewis L. Sellew, Provincetown, 1; 1856, Alfred Kenrick, Orleans, 1; 1857, John W. Atwood. Chatham, 2.
By the Twenty-second amendment of May, 1857, the state was re- districted, and Falmouth, Sandwich and Barnstable were joined with Dukes and Nantucket counties to compose the Island district, while the Cape district comprised Yarmouth and the nine towns below. This apportionment existed until 1877, during which time the Cape district was represented in 1858, 1859 by Charles F. Swift, Yarmouth; 1860, 1861 by Marshal S. Underwood, Dennis; 1862, 1863, R. H.Libby, Wellfleet; 1864, 1865, Freeman Cobb, Provincetown; 1866, Reuben Nickerson, Eastham; 1867, 1868, Chester Snow, Harwich; 1869-1871, NathanielE. Atwood, Provincetown; 1872, 1873, Joseph K. Baker, Dennis; 1874, 1875, Thomas N. Stone, Wellfleet; 1876, Jonathan Hig- gins, Orleans.
The Island district was represented within this twenty years by Barnstable county men as follows: 1861, 1862, Charles Dillingham, Sandwich; 1863, 1864, Nathan Crocker, Barnstable; 1867, 1868, Eras- mus Gbuld, Fal-mouth; 1869, 1870, George A. King, Barnstable; 1873, 1874, Francis A. Nye, Falmouth; 1875, 1876, Ezra C. Howard, Sand- wich.
Since 1877 and until the present the three counties — Banstable, Dukes and Nantucket — have composed the Cape district, which was represented in 1877-1879 by John B. D. Cogswell of Yarmouth; 1880, 1881, by. Samuel Snow, Barnstable: 1882, 1883, Joseph P. Johnson, Provincetown; 1884-1886, Howes Norris, Cottage City; 1887, 1888, Isaac N. Keith, Bourne.
David Fisk of Dennis was elected in 1888 for the session of 1889, and by re-election is the present senator. He is one of four brothers of that family name residing in South Dennis, who are intimately blended with the civil history of their native town, as well as the county. Of his ancestors little is known beyond his grandfather, Nathan Fisk, who settled during the last century in Dennis. His son Nathan, born in 1801, married Polly, daughter of Eliphalet Baker, one of the descendants of the large family of that name scattered over the Cape. Their children were eight in number, four of whom survive: Uriah B., Luther, David and Henry H. Fisk.
David Fisk was born May 6, 1838, at West Dennis, where hjs boy- hood was passed in acquiring such an education as was obtainable in the public and private schools, until the age of fifteen, when he went to sea, before the mast. Several years were passed in ascending the scale, and at the age of twenty-two he acted as master. In this capac- ity he continued for a period of fifteen years, coasting and occasion- ally making a voyage to foreign ports. In 1874 he retired and has
46 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
since acted as the agent for Fisk Brothers, in building vessels and in other shipping business. He was married in 1860 to Mary E. Wixon, who died leaving two daughters: Marion and Alice M. In 1886 he married for his second wife, Mary E., daughter of Zeno Gage.
As soon as he was permanently retired from the sea he was chosen by the republican party to serve as selectman, assessor, overseer of the poor, and surveyor of the public roads, which duties he declined after serving six years-. He also served Uis town in the school com- mittee three years, commencing with 1875. His ability being appre- ciated, he was, in the autumn of 1881, elected to a seat in the legisla- ture, and re-elected in 1832. No happier tribute could have been paid to him than his nomination by acclamation and the election in 1888 to a seat in the senate and again in 1889 — the highest honor of his dis- trict. His advancement has been as marked and he has been as suc- cessful on land as on sea, every position being filled with that natural energy and decision which inspires confidence in his ability.
He is liberal in his views in all matters of church and state, and is endowed with a firm and lasting friendship. In his business and official relations he is indefatigable in the discharge of every duty. His social proclivities induced him to unite with the Masonic frater- nity, and there, too, he has been elevated to the highest offices of the lodge. In every position where he has presided or mingled in the aflFairs of his fellow townsmen, the same firmness, tempered with jus- tice, has characterized him, and his success is established.
Representatives. — After Governor Bradford was elected his ill- ness in 1621 made it advisable that he have an assistant; this was continued, and in 1624 five assistants were chosen. In 1633 the num- ber was increased to seven, and not until the arrival of Andros was this branch of the civil government discontinued.
The election of deputies by the towns, as soon as they were legally incorporated, was a change to a representative form of government. The first representative assembly met June 4, 1639, at Plymouth, to which Sandwich, Yarmouth and Barnstable sent each two deputies. This was an enlargement as well as division of the powers of the gov- ernment, as in these deputies were conjointly invested powers which heretofore had been exercised by the governor and his assistants only. The extension of the settlements had created a necessity for delega- ting power to deputies and representatives, and thus the present repre- sentative form of government was inaugurated. The constitution of 1780 provided that towns already incorporated and having 160 ratable polls or less, should be entitled to one representative, to be elected in May of each year; and corporate towns containing 375 ratable polls, two representatives. Under this provision the representatives of the respective towns are given in the history of each, being considered as town officers until 1857.
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 47
Since 1831 the legislative year begins the first Wednesday in Jan- uary, by amendment Ten, promulgated May 11th of that year, the elec- tions being held in November. The amendment of 1836, article Twelve, changed the basis of representation, the census of ratable polls by towns to be taken in May, 1837, and every tenth year thereafter. This provided that each town of three hundred ratable polls might elect one, and for every additional 450 polls, another representative might be elected. By an equitable rule, towns having less than three hun- dred polls were to be represented a portion of the ten years only; and the reader may not expect to find the smaller towns represented every year, while the larger may have more than one for a portion of the time.
This arrangement was superseded in 1840 by article Thirteen of amendments.which provided that the next decade should begin in 1841; that the rate of representation be one for twelve hundred ratable polls and two for thirty-six hundred. Under this rule the apportionment of 1841 entitled each town of the county to one representative, except the towns of Barnstable, Sandwich and Eastham, the first two to have two each, and the latter only to have five within the ten years. This rule of apportionment existed from 1841 to 1850, inclusive.
The apportionment of 1851 gave Barnstable two representatives each year; Brewster one for seven years within the ten; Eastham for four of the same period; and every other town one each year.
In May, 1857, article Twenty-one provided that the house of repre- sentatives consist of 240 members, to be apportioned according to the census of 1857, and the county commissioners were to district the county at the beginning of each decade, after the legislature had as- signed the number of representatives to the county. The same amend- ment provided that the census shoiild again be taken in May, 1865, and every tenth year thereafter, and the legislature should apportion the representatives to the counties at the first session after the enume- ration. This made a radical change in the system of apportionment, and since the election of the representatives in the fall of 1857, they can no longer be regarded as officers of the town, and are accordingly noticed in the following lists. The county was entitled to nine rep- resentatives by this act, and the commissioners divided the towns as follows: The First district included Barnstable, Sandwich and Fal- mouth, and was to elect three representatives; the Second included Yarmouth, Dennis, Harwich and Chatham, with three; the Third, Brewster, Orleans and Eastham, one; and the Fourth, Wellfleet, Truro and Provincetown, with two.
As each person elected represented the district in which he lived, and the residence being indicated with the name, the following lists are believed to be explicit as showing the district and years in which each man served:
48 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
1858. Zenas D. Bassett, Barnstable; John A. Baxter, Barnstable; Paul Wing, Sandwich; John W. Atwood, Chatham; Thomas Dodge, Chat- ham; Luther Studley, Dennis; Ira Mayo, Orleans; Nathaniel E. At- wood, Provincetown; Thomas H. Lewis, Wellfleet.
1859. Nathaniel Hinckley, Barnstable; John S. Fish, Sandwich; William Nye, jr., Falmouth; Benjamin H. Matthews, Yarmouth; James S. Howes, Dennis; Nathaniel Doane, jr., Harwich; Elijah Cobb, Brewster: Daniel Paine, Truro; James Gifford, Provincetown.
1860. Ansel Lewis, Barnstable; Joseph Hoxie, Sandwich; William Nye, jr., Falmouth; Benjamin H. Matthews, Yarmouth; James S. Howes, Dennis; Edward Smalley, Harwich; Nathan Crosby, Barn- stable; Simeon Atwood, jr., Wellfleet; James Gifford, Provincetown.
1861. John S- Fish, Sandwich; George W. Donaldson, Falmouth; Ansel Lewis; Samuel Higgins, Chatham; John K. Sears, Yarmouth; Edward Smalley, Harwich; Jesse Snow, Orleans; Lewis Lombard, Truro; James Gifford, Provincetown.
1862. Asa E. Lovell, Barnstable; Zebedee Green, Sandwich, John K. Sears, Yarmouth; Samuel Higgins, Chatham; George W. Donald- son, Falmouth; Danforth S. Steel, Harwich; Sylvanus Smith, East- ham; John P. Johnson, Provincetown; Benjamin Oliver, Wellfleet.
1863. Charles Marston, Barnstable; Elisha G. Burgess, Falmouth; Zebedee Green, Sandwich; Isaac B. Young, Chatham; Marshall S. Un- derwood, Dennis; Danforth S. Steel, Harwich; Truman Doane, Or- leans; Smith K. Hopkins, Truro; Benjamin Oliver, Wellfleet.
1864. Charles Marston, Barnstable, E. G. Burgess, Falmouth; Ezra T. Pope, Sandwich; Isaac B. Young, Chatham; M. S. Underwood, Dennis; David G. Eldridge, Yarmouth; Sylvanus Smith, Eastham; David Wiley, Wellfleet; Henry Shortle, Provincetown.
1865. Ezra T. Pope, Sandwich; Silas Jones, Falmouth; Simeon L. Leonard, Barnstable; David G. Eldridge, Yarmouth; Joseph Hall, Dennis; Solomon Thacher, Harwich; Tully Crosby, Brewster; Henry Shortle, Provincetown; Amasa Paine, Truro.
1866. Isaac K. Chipman, Sandwich; Silas Jones, Falmouth; S. L. Leonard, Barnstable; Edmund Flinn, Chatham; Joseph Hall, Dennis; Solomon Thacher, Harwich; Truman Doane, Orleans; Freeman A. Smith, Provincetown; Nathaniel H. Dill, Wellfleet.
The apportionment of 1865 for the next decade put Barnstable, Sandwich, Falmouth and Yarmouth into the First district for three representatives; Dennis, Harwich and Brewster composed the Second, for two; Chatham and Orleans made the Third, for one; and the four lower towns made the Fourth district, which was entitled to two rep- resentatives, all to be elected in November, 1866. The several incum- bents' names and year in which each was in oflBce stand thus:
1867. Isaac K. Chipman, Sandwich; George Marston, Barnstable;
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 49
Heman B. Chase, Yarmouth; Solomon Thacher, Harwich; Frederick Hebard, Dennis; Edmund Flinn, Chatham; Nathaniel H. Dill, Well- fleet; Jesse Pendegrast, Truro.
1868. Alvah Holway, Sandwich; Lemuel B. Simmons, Barnstable; Heman B. Chase, Yarmouth; Samuel H. Gould, Brewster; Seth Cro- well, Dennis; Ensign B. Rogers, Orleans: Henry Shortle, Province- town; John H. Bangs, Eastham.
1869. Lemuel B. Simmons, Bam.stable; Francis A. Nye, Falmouth; Alvah Holway, Sandwich; Samuel H. Gould, Brewster; Shubael B. Kelley, Harwich; Ensign B. Rogers, Orleans; John C. Peake, Well- fleet; Obadiah S. Brown, Truro.
1870. Francis A. Nye, Falmouth; Warren Marchant, Sandwich; Henry Goodspeed, Barnstable; Shubael B. Kelley, Harwich; Joseph K. Baker, jr., Dennis; Thomas Holway, Chatham; Joseph P. Johnson, Provincetown; George T. Wyer, Wellfleet.
1871. Henry Goodspeed, Barnstable; J. B. D. Cogswell, Yarmouth; Ezra C. Howard, Sandwich; Erastus Chase, Harwich; Joseph K. Baker, Dennis; Thomas Holway, Chatham; Joseph P. Johnson; Provincetown; George T. Wyer, Wellfleet.
1872. Ezra C. Howard, Sandwich; J. B. D. Cogswell, Yarmouth; Nathaniel Sears, Barnstable; Erastus Chase, Harwich; Zoeth Snow, jr., Brewster; Lot Higgins, Orleans; Jesse S. Pendergrast, Truro; Reuben G. Sparks, Provincetown.
1873. J. B. D. Cogswell, Yarmouth; Nathaniel Sears, Barnstable; Philip H. Robinson, Sandwich; David P. Howes, Dennis; Zoeth Snow, jr., Brewster; Lot Higgins, Orleans; R. G. Sparks, Provincetown; Thomas N. Stone, Wellfleet.
1874. Levi L. Goodspeed, Barnstable; Philip H. Robinson, Sand- wich; Joshua C. Robinson, Falmouth; David P. Howes, Dennis; George D. Smalley, Harwich; Solomon E. Hallett, Chatham; Henry Shortle, Provincetown; Lewis Lombard, Eastham.
1875. Levi L. Goodspeed, Barnstable; Joshua C. Robinson, Fal- mouth; Isaac N. Keith, Sandwich; George D. Smalley, Harwich; Luther Fisk, Dennis; S. Eldredge Hallett, Chatham; Isaiah A. Small, Provincetown; Edward W. Noble, Truro.
1876. Samuel Snow, Barnstable; Daniel Wing, Yarmouth; I. N. Keith, Sandwich; Freeman Doane, Orleans; Isaiah Small, Province- town; Noah Swett, Wellfleet; Elisha Crocker, jr., Brewster; Luther Fisk, Dennis.
The relative decrease in population at the next decade left Barn- stable county entitled to six representatives from 1877 to 1886, inclu- sive. Six districts were formed, with one representative to each, the first embracing Sandwich and Falmouth; the second Barnstable and Mashpee; the third Yarmouth and Dennis; the fourth Harwich and 4
60 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
Chatham; the fifth Brewster, Orleans, Eastham and Wellfleet; and the sixth including Truro and Provincetown. The representatives dur- ing this decade with the year of service were:
1877. Crocker H. Bearse, Falmouth; Samuel Snow, Barnstable; Daniel Wing, Yarmouth; Abiathar Doane, Harwich; Noah Swett, Wellfleet; Henry Shortle, Provincetown.
1878. Isaiah Fish, Sandwich; Asa Lovell, Barnstable; Thomas Prince Howes, Dennis; Abiathar Doane, Harwich; Freeman Doane, Orleans; Henry Shortle, Provincetown.
1879. Isaiah Fish, Sandwich; Asa Lovell, Barnstable; Thomas P. Howes, Dennis; Rufus Smith, Chatham; Elisha Crocker, jr., Brewster; Bangs A. Lewis, Provincetown.
1880. James E. GiflFord, Falmouth; Clark Lincoln, Barnstable; Charles F. Swift, Yarmouth; Erastus Nickerson, Chatham; Jesse H. Freeman, Wellfleet; Joseph P. Johnson, Provincetown.
1881. James E. Gifford, Falmouth; Clark Lincoln, Barnstable; Charles F. Swift, Yarmouth; Watson B. Kelley, Harwich; Jesse H. Freeman, Wellfleet; Atkins Hughes, Truro.
1882. Bradford B. Briggs, Sandwich; F. D. Cobb, Barnstable; David Fisk, Dennis: Watson B. Kelley, Harwich; John A. Clark, Eastham; Atkins Hughes, Truro.
1883. Bradford B. Briggs. Sandwich; F. D.Cobb, Barnstable; David Fisk, Dennis; Clarendon A. Freeman, Chatham; Solomon Linnell 2d, Orleans; Edward E. Small, Provincetown.
1884. Meltiah Gifford, Falmouth; Zenas E. Crowell, Barnstable; Joshua Crowell, Dennis; Clarendon A. Freeman, Chatham; Solomon Linnell, 2d, Orleans; Edward E. Small, Provincetown.
1885. Asa P. Tobey, Falmouth; Z. E. Crowell, Barnstable; Joshua Crowell, Dennis; Ambrose N. Doane, Harwich; Tully Crosby, jr., Brewster; Benjamin D. Atkins, Provincetown.
1886. Charles Dillingham, Sandwich; Watson F. Hammond, Mash- pee; George H. Loring, Yarmouth; Ambrose N. Doane, Harwich; Isaiah C. Young, Wellfleet; Benjamin D. Atkins, Provincetown.
The present apportionment, made in 1886 from the census of 1885, entitles the county to four representatives. The First district includes Dennis and the six towns west of it, and elects two representatives. Charles Dillingham, Sandwich, and George H. Loring, Yarmouth, represented this district in 1887; A. R. Eldridge, Bourne, and Joshua Crowell, Dennis, represented it in 1888 and 1889; and Nathan Edson, Barnstable, and George E. Clarke, Falmouth, in 1890.
The second district, with one representative, includes the towns of Harwich, Chatham, Brewster and Orleans. It was represented in 1887 by John H. Clark, Brewster; in 1888 by Joseph W. Rogers, Or- leans; in 1889 by George Eldridge, Chatham; and in 1890 by Dr. George N. Munsell, Harwich.
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 51
The lower four towns are embraced in the third district, which was represented in 1887 by Isaiah C. Young, Wellfleet; in 1888 and 1889 by David Conwell, Provincetown; and in 1890 by Richard A. Rich, of Truro.
Sheriffs. — William Bassett was the first sheriff of the county. He was appointed under the charter. May 27, 1692. The successive in- cumbents have been: From 1699, Samuel Allen; 1713, Shubael Gor- ham; 1715, Joseph Lothrop; 1721, John Russell; 1731, John Hedge; 1734, Shubael Gorham; 1748, John Gorham; 1764, Nathaniel Stone; 1775, Enoch Hallett; 1788, Joseph Dimmick; 1808, James Freeman; 1816, Wendell Davis; 1823, David Crocker; 1843, Nathaniel Hinckley; 1848, Charles Marston; 1852, Daniel Bassett; 1853, David Bursley; 1856, Charles C. Bearse; 1863, David Bursley; 1878, Levi L. Goodspeed; 1880, Thomas Harris; 1884, Luther Fisk; 1890, Joseph Whitcomb, of Pro- vincetown.
In 1720 Shubael Gorham was appointed " to be joint sheriff with Mr. Lothrop." The office of "joint sheriff" and "sole sheriff" are occasionally noted in the records of those years.
Registers of Deeds. — The early deeds were recorded at Plymouth, but in 1686 Joseph Lothrop, as register for the new county, recorded on the fifth of October the first deed at Barnstable. The succeeding registers have been: William Bassett, John Thacher, Solomon Otis, Edward Bacon, Ebenezer Bacon, Job C. Davis, Lothrop Davis, Fred- erick Scudder, Smith K. Hopkins from 1874, Asa E. Lovell from 1877, and Andrew F. Sherman from 1887.
County Institutions. — Associations for more effective work in the church, and societies for the advancement of agriculture and other arts, have been formed in the county during the present cen- tury, of which the conference of the Congregational churches is the oldest. This was formed October 28, 1828, for the promotion of a closer union of its ministers and societies. No written constitution was adopted until April 26, 1837, and of this a revision was made in January, 1845. The pastors of the churches of the county^ also those of Dukes county, with two lay members from each society, constitute the membership. The meetings are held in different towns, accord- ing to appointment, twice in each year.
The Barnstable Baptist Association was organized in 1832, embrac- ing the societies of that faith on the Cape, and at Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard. The association, consisting now of fifteen churches, has a constitution for its government, and holds its sessions at least annually, commencing on the second Wednesday in Septem- ber in each year. Each church is allowed to send its pastor and four lay members, called messengers. The officers are a moderator, clerk and treasurer. To this association each church sends a communica-
62 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
tion containing an account of its condition and prosperity. The body has certain powers of its own, and has for its object the promotion of piety.
The Barnstable County Mutual Fire Insurance Company was char- tered in March, 1833, and in August of the same year opened its prin- cipal office at Yarmouth Port. The executive officers are the pres- ident and the secretary, who is also treasurer. The presidents in suc- cession, have been: David Crocker, Eben Bacon, Zenas D. Bassett, David K. Akin and Joseph R. Hall. The first secretary and treas- urer was Amos Otis, succeeded by his son, George Otis, and he, in January, 1882, by Frank Thacher, the present incumbent. The career of this institution has been uniformly successful. Careful manage- ment has reduced the average net cost of insurance to one-third the usual rates.
The Cape Cod Historical Society was organized at a meeting held at the camp meeting grove in Yarmouth, August 5, 1882. Its object, as stated in its constitution, is " the collection, preservation and dis- semination of facts of local history." The fee for membership was placed at two dollars, with a liability to assessment not exceeding one dollar per year. For life members the fee is ten dollars, without any additional charges. The annual meetings of the society are held on the 22d of February, or the day of its legal observance. At these meetings original papers are read, and discussions of historical sub- jects are conducted. When practicable a summer meeting is held or an excursion provided to some spot of historic interest. Three such occasions have occurred during the existence of the society — one in 1883, when a clambake was served near the site of the ancient trad- ing port of the pilgrims, at Manomet, when an address was delivered by Hon. Thomas Russell, and appropriate speeches made by other gentlemen. The following year the party visited Sandwich and inspected the site of the Cape Cod ship canal. One year some fifty members and their friends visited Plymouth and thoroughly explored its historic sites, burial grounds and record halls, and the rooms of the Pilgrim Society. Papers have been prepared and read at the annual meetings of the society which are worthy of preservation in a permanent form, and would make an interesting and instructive volume. They were written by Josiah Paine, Thomas P. Howes, E. S. Whittemore, Shebnah Rich, C. C. P. Waterman and Charles F. Swift.
The officers of the society are: Charles F. Swift, president; Josiah Paine, secretary; Samuel Snow, treasurer. These persons have held their positions since the organization of the society. The follow- ing are the additional officers in 1889-90: Vice-presidents, Thomas P. Howes, Alonzo Tripp, Sylvanus B. Phinney, Ebenezer S. Whitte-
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 63
more, James Gififord, Jesse H. Freeman; executive committee, the president, secretary and treasurer, and Joshua C. Howes and E. B. Crocker.
On the fifth of May, 1843, pursuant to notice published in the two newspapers in the county, a meeting was held at the court house in Barnstable to take measures for forming a county agricultural society. The project was greeted with a smile of incredulity on the part of many who gauged the agricultural resources of the Cape by the description of the witty scribbler, who said that it chiefly produced " huckleberry bushes and mullein stalks." Those who assembled on this occasion had a better appreciation of the situation and resources of the county. They were called to order by Hon. John Reed of Yarmouth, and Mr. H. C. Merriam of Tewksbury, who was a practical agriculturist, made an address. Discussion ensued, and the organ- ization of the Barnstable County Agricultural Society resulted there- from. The following were the first oflBcers of the society: President, Hon. John Reed of Yarmouth; vice-presidents, Clark Hoxie of Sand- wich, and James Small of Truro; secretary, Charles H. Bursley of West Barnstable; treasurer, Joseph A. Davis of Barnstable; trustees, John Jenkins, Falmouth; Meltiah Bourne, Sandwich; Charles Sears, Yarmouth; William Howes, Dennis; Enoch Pratt, Brewster; Obed Brooks, jr., Harwich; Isaac Hardy, Chatham; John Doane, Orleans; John W. Higgfins, Eastham; John Newcomb, Wellfleet; Joshua Small, Truro; Thomas Lothrop, Provincetown.
A constitution was subsequently formed and sixty members were soon enrolled. During the winter of 1844 an act of incorporation was granted by the legislature, which was accepted by the society May 8th of that year, and the office of corresponding secretary was added, Frederick Scudder of Barnstable being chosen to that position. This office was discontinued in 1861. The first exhibition and fair of the society was held in the court house, at Barnstable, September 4, 1844. It was a gratifying success, but the amount of premiums awarded was only $146. These annual fairs were continued in Barnstable, except in the years 1851, when Orleans was the place of meeting, and 1862, when the fair was held at Sandwich.
In 1867-68 a lot of land was acquired at Barnstable, and on it a building was erected for exhibition purposes, and a hall for public meetings. This building and lot, with improvements on the same, cost $4,268; $2,050 of which was paid by voluntary subscriptions. An additional plot of land, valued at $260, was given to the society by Messrs. Francis Bacon and James Huckins. The building committee were: S. B. Phinney, Frederick Parker, S. F. Nye, James G. Hallet, Elijah Cobb, John A. Baxter, and Obed Brooks, jr. George Marston and Simeon N. Small were subsequently added, in place of Mr. Nye,
64 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
deceased, and Mr. Brooks, resigned. In the spring of 1862, this build- ing having been destroyed in a severe gale and storm, a new one was erected on the same site, largely by subscriptions in the county and in Boston. This building was dedicated October 15, 1862, in an address by Hon. George Marston. It has since been considerably improved, and is in all respects well adapted to the wants of the society.
The society has been the recipient of two donations to its perma- nent fund. The late Captain John Percival left five hundred dollars, the income of which is devoted to premiums to exhibitors. Mrs. Ellen B. Eldridge has also given the sum of five hundred dollars, in recognition of the interest which her late husband, Dr. Azariah Eldridge, took in the affairs of the society, the income of which is devoted to the same purpose. The late Hon. William Sturg^s of Bos- ton presented the society the sum of twelve hundred dollars to cancel the indebtedness incurred by the building of a new hall.
The officers of the society during the forty-seven years of its existence have been as follows: Presidents — John Reed, chosen in 1848; Zenas D. Basset, 1848; C. B. H. Fessenden, 1861; Charles Marston, 1852; S. B. Phinney, 1866; George Marston, 1869; Nathaniel Hinckley, 1864; Nathan Crocker, 1866; Charles C. Bearse, 1869; Levi L. Good- speed. 1871; Charles F. Swift, 1873; A. T. Perkins, 1876; Azariah El- dridge, 1878; John Simpkins, 1888 to present time. Secretaries — Charles H. Bursley, 1843; George Marston, 1863; S. B. Phinney, 1859; Frederick Scudder, 1862; George A. King, 1866; Charles F. Swift, 1867; Charles Thacher, 2d, 1871; F. B. Goss, 1876; F. P. Goss, 1879; Frederick C. Swift, 1882 to present time. Treasurers — ^Joseph A. Davis, 1843; Ebenezer Bacon, 1845; Daniel Bassett, 1863; S. P. Holway, 1868; S. B. Phinney, 1860; Walter Chipman, 1861; Frederick Scudder, 1867; Walter Chipman, 1868; Freeman H. Lothrop, 1876; Albert F. Edson, 1882 to present time. Delegates to State Board of Agricul- ture—George Marston, 1859; S. B. Phinney, 1862; John Kenrick. 1866; S. B. Phinney, 1870; Augustus T. Perkins, 1879; Nathan Edson, 1882 to present time.
The officers for 1889-90 are: President, John Simpkins; vice-presi- dents, John Kenrick and A. D. Makepeace; secretary, Frederick C. Swift; treasurer, Albert F. Edson; executive committee, John Ken- rick, James F. Howes, Nathan Edson, David Fisk, A. D. Makepeace, James H. Jenkins, John Bursley, Ebenezer B. Crocker, James A. El- dridge, Oliver Hallet, H. B. Winship, Alexander Walker, Samuel H. Nye; auditing committee. Freeman H. Lothrop, Samuel Snow, G. A. Hinckley; superintendent of hall and grounds, Russell Matthews.
The Cape Cod cranberry men have an organization, including ninety-eight members, of which J. J. Russell of Plymouth is presi-
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 55
dent. All the other officers are residents of this county. Emulous Small of Harwich, and Abel D. Makepeace of West Barnstable, are the vice-presidents, and I. T.Jones is the secretary and treasurer. The executive committee for 1890 consists of Calvin Crowell, Sagamore; A. Phinney, Falmouth; G. R. Briggs, Plymouth; O. M. Holmes, Mash- pee; James Webb, Cotuit; James S. Howes, East Dennis; and D. B. Crocker, Yarmouth. The second annual meeting of this society was held last year at Falmouth.
Federal Institutions. — Among the institutions in the county belonging to and erected by the federal government, are the custom house buildings,. lighthouses, and life saving stations. The collector, deputies, keepers and crews employed in the various duties of these necessary institutions are residents of the county, and our history would be incomplete without their mention.
As early as 1749 a collector of excise was chosen for Barnstable by the general court, and that harbor was then made, in a limited sense, a port of entry. Joseph Otis was appointed naval offiicer for this county November 27, 1776, and was succeeded February 6, 1779, by William Taylor, and he by Samuel Hinckley. Thus far it had been an affair of the state; but in 1789, while Samuel Hinckley was in office, an act of congress made Barnstable the seventh of the twenty districts or ports which that act established in Massachusetts for the collection of duties. General Otis succeeded Mr. Hinckley by President Wash- ingfton's appointment, and served until his death. His son, William Otis, was collector from March 22, 1809, until the appointment of Isaiah L. Green. Mr. Green had been member of congress three terms, but had failed of re-election because of his vote in favor of the war of 1812. The president, as his friend, appointed him collector February' 21, 1814, an office which he held until succeeded by Henry Crocker, April 1, 1837. The successive appointments have been as follows: Ebenezer Bacon, March 23, 1841; Josiah Hinckley, April 1, 1845; S. B. Phinney, April 4, 1847; Ebenezer Bacon, June 10, 1849; S. B. Phinney, April 1,1853; Joseph M. Day, July 1, 1861; Charles F. Swift, November 12, 1861; S. B. Phinney, November 11, 1866; Walter Chipman, special deputy, March 5, 1867; Charles F. Swift, March 17, 1867; Franklin B. Goss, July 8, 1876; Van Buren Chase, August 8, 1887: and Franklin B. Goss, August 1, 1889.
Prior to 1855 each collector had kept the office at his own place of business, and that year the present custom house was commenced at Barnstable.
The federal act of 1789 provided that Sandwich.Wellfleet, Chatham and Provincetown should be ports of delivery in the Barnstable dis- trict. In 1790 the shores and waters of the entire county were formed into what has since been known as the Barnstable district. The re-
56 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
districting of the coast in 1799 enlarged the powers of the collector of this port; but the unlading of foreign vessels here was not permitted until the year 1809. That year delegates from the towns of the county assembled, and by petitions to congress new privileges were obtained. Until 1817 the collector for the district was the only government officer empowered to act; but the act of March third, that year, gave collectors authority to employ deputy collectors, with the approval of the secretary of the treasury. These deputies have since been vested with full powers at the respective ports for which they were appointed. There are now in this district seven ports of entry, at each of which a deputy is appointed. They are: Walter O. Luscombe, Falmouth; John J. Collins, Barnstable; William Crocker, Hyannis; Henry H. Fisk, Dennis; Erastus T. Bearse, Chatham; Simeon Atwood, Wellfleet; Myrick C. Atwood and Robert M. Lavender, Provincetown.
No equal area of land presents to the navigator a more dangerous coast, nor a greater perimeter, than this county; and probably no coast presents to the sea-faring man more changes from drifting sands. Surveys and soundings must be continually made, and charts and directions are printed yearly for the safe navigation of the waters around the Cape. Lightships — off Chatham and along the sound — are manned and sustained by the government; and lighthouses and bea- cons of various kinds have been erected on the coa.sts. As early as 1797 the town of Truro sold to the United States ten acres of land upon which to erect the first lighthouse of the Cape. The lighthouse stations of this county, now numbering seventeen, form a portion of the Second Lighthouse district, and are situated as follows:
Wing's Neck light, near the head of Buzzard's bay, east side of the entrance to Pocasset harbor, has been a government station for some time. A lantern giving a white light, visible twelve miles, has been displayed from the top of a white house with a red roof. A light- house of the usual form is now being erected near by.
Nobsque light is situated on the knoll east of Little harbor, Woods HoU. The tower is thirty-five feet high and contains a fixed white light, with a red sector, and is visible thirteen miles. This station has a fog signal — a bell struck by machinery. The signal is two strokes of the bell in quick succession, followed by an interval of thirty sec- onds.
Bishop & Clerk's light is on a ledge of the same name off Gammon point, where still remains the tower of a former station. The tower of the present lighthouse is forty-seven feet high, has a flashing white light with intervals of thirty seconds, and is visible for thirteen miles. It also contains a red sector, and a fog bell which is rung by ma- chinery.
Hyannis light has a tower twenty-one feet high, and is situated on
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 57
the main land at the head of the harbor. The light is a fixed red, visible nearly twelve miles.
Hyannis Beacon light is a framed building, containing a red light visible nine miles. This is used in connection with surrounding lights in giving courses for safe navigation.
Bass River light is just east of the mouth of the river of that name, and is situated in West Dennis. It is a fixed white light in the tower of the keeper's residence, and is visible Hi miles.
Stage Harbor light is situated on Harding's beach, at the entrance of Stage harbor, Chatham. The tower is thirty-five feet high and has a fixed white light that can be seen twelve miles at sea.
Monomoy Point light, on the south end of the beach of the same name, is a fixed white light in a tower thirty feet high, and is visible twelve miles.
Chatham light station is on the main land, in Chatham village. It consists of two round towers, each forty-three feet high, placed north and south, one hundred feet apart. In each is a fixed white light, visible 14^ miles.
Nauset Beach light is in Eastham, on the ocean coast, and has three towers, each eighteen feet high, ranging north and south, with a dis- tance of 150 feet between. Each tower contains a fixed white light, visible fifteen miles out on the sea. Abreast this light the tides divide and run in opposite directions.
. Cape Cod light station — the Highland light — is on the east shore of Truro, on a blue clay bank, 142 feet above the sea. The tower still rises fifty-three feet higher, from which a fixed white light sheds its rays twenty miles out to sea. A Daboll trumpet is used for a fog sig- nal, which is a blast of eight seconds, with an interval of a half minute. Vessels passing this light can communicate with Boston if the Inter- national Code signals are in use on board.
Race Point light, situated on the northeast point of Provincetown, has a tower thirty feet high, with a white light varied by flashes every ninety seconds, which can be seen by mariners 12^^ miles at sea. It also contains a steam whistle for fog signals.
Wood End light, on Wood End, near the entrance of Provincetown harbor, is a tower thirty-four feet high, using a red, flashing light in intervals of fifteen seconds. It is visible twelve miles.
Long Point light is on the eastern point of the peninsula that en- circles the west side of Provincetown harbor, the square tower thirty- four feet high being erected on the extreme point, southwest of the entrance to the harbor. A fixed white light is used, which is visible nearly twelve miles. A bell, run by machinery, gives the fog signal, which is two quick, successive strokes, then one after half a minute, followed by a longer interval.
58 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
Mayo's Beach light is a round tower, twenty-five feet high, situated at the head of Wellfleet bay. It has a fixed white light, visible over eleven miles.
Billingsgate light station is on the island of that name, on the west side of the entrance to Wellfleet bay. The tower is thirty-four feet high, containing a fixed white light, visible twelve miles.
Sandy Neck light, on the neck at the entrance of Barnstable har- bor, has a tower forty-four feet high, which contains a fixed white light, visible to the mariner twelve miles out in the bay.
These stations are under the supervision of the Lighthouse Board at Boston: but the keepers are generally residents of the Cape.
Not until 1848 was the beneficent plan of establishing life saving stations seriously contemplated by the federal government. That year, in August, Hon. William A. Newell, a member of the house of representatives, portrayed in a speech the terrible dangers to naviga- tion as presented by the coasts, and strongly urged the action of con- gress to render assistance to vessels cast ashore. During the same session a small sum was appropriated for surf boats and other appara- tus for the New Jersey coast, which was to be under the supervision of the Revenue Marine. More was appropriated at the next session, and Captain Douglass Ottinger is said to have invented a life car for the transportation of persons from a wreck through the surf to the shore. In 1854 stations were erected along the ocean coast of Long Island, and more public interest was manifested in securing well equipped stations.
The occurrence of several very fatal disasters along the Atlantic coast during the winter of 1870-71 revealed the fact that the service was not only ineflBcient for want of more complete organization, but must be extended to other portions of the coast. By the act of March 3, 1871, better facilities for saving life and property were furnished to the first organized stations — two new stations were erected on the coast of Rhode Island. By the act of June 10, 1872, the system was extended to Cape Cod, and money was appropriated for the erection of nine stations along its ocean shore. They were completed and fur- nished with apparatus the following winter. The number of stations on the Cape provided for by the act of 1872 was subsequently increased to ten, and they are named and located as follows: Race Point, two- thirds of a mile northeast of Race Point light; Peaked Hill Bars, 2i miles northeast of Provincetown; High Head. 3i miles northwest of the Highland light; Highland, nearly one mile northwest of the Highland light; Pamet River station, 3^ miles sotith of the High- land light, in Truro; Cahoon's Hollow, in Wellfleet, south of the last; Nauset, If miles south of Nauset light; Orleans station, at East
y^'V^ ^^/^^<i'^'(py
ycJ^'myO-^-rri^
t'^l^C^l^'
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS. 59"
Orleans; Chatham, near the Chatham light; and Monomoy station, 2i miles north of the Monomoy light.
We have dated the life saving service from 1848; but the exten- sion and reorganization of the service in 1871, 1872, marks the be- ginning of the efficiency for which this branch of the public ser- vice is justly distinguished. After congress had appropriated two hundred thousand dollars, in April, 1871, the treasury department de- tailed Captain John Faunce, of the Revenue Marine, to visit the sta- tions already established, and ascertain their condition and needs.. His report showed the practical waste of the government money and the utter uselessness of most of the stations. No discipline among the men, no care for the preservation of apparatus, and no super- vision of the stations, were evils which he pointed out. Several seri- ous disasters served to call further attention to the service, and re- sulted in the inauguration of the present system of districts with, superintendents. Of the twelve districts in the United States, the Second includes the entire coast of Massachusetts, of which Benjamin C. Span-ow, of East Orleans, is superintendent. His selection and appointment in November, 1872, was a part of the plan to prevent the evils above mentioned, while extending the service under liberal appropriations. He had been in the United States regular army from 1861 until November, 1864, in the engineer battalion, attached to the headquarters of the army of the Potomac, and was a prisoner at Belle Isle in the summer of 1862. He had taught public schools in Eastham, and from 1861 had been successfully engaged in wreckings When the war broke out he was at Phillips Academy preparing himself for the legal profession. Since his birth, October 9, 1839, he had, like his ancestors, resided at Orleans, where they had been fully familiar with the scenes of shipwreck and disaster.
The success of Superintendent Sparrow in securing discipline and eflBciency in this hazardous service, and his popularity among the captains and crews of the stations under his official care, have retained him to the present time. He is a worthy descendant of that Richard Sparrow who came over in the ship Ann and landed at Plymouth, and from whom those of the name on the Cape have sprung. Richard' came to Eastham in 1650, bringing his only child, Jonathan', whose last resting place is now marked by a stone in the first burial ground of that town. His son by a second marriage with Hannah, daughter of Governor Prince, was Richard', born March 17, 1-669. He married Mercy Young (or Cobb), and died in Eastham in 1727, leaving seven daughters and a son, Richard*. This only son married Hannah Shaw in 1724, and died in 1774. Of their children three only grew to man- hood and womanhood — Isaac and two daughters, one of whom mar- ried Daniel Hamilton, whose son Paul was the first Methodist preacher
60 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
heard in Orleans. Isaac* was bom in 1725, and married Rebecca , Knowles in 1747, to whom eight children were born — five daughters and three sons, of whom Josiah' was the youngest. He married Mercy Smith, of Chatham, January 11, 1782. Their nine children were: Lydia, born October 19, 1782; Josiah, jr., born March 13, 1785; Mercy, born May 28, 1788; Zerviah, born March 15, 1790; Samuel, born November 8, 1792; Harvey, born November 14, 1795; Sarah, born March 21, 1798; James L., bom June 2, 1801; and Hannah Shaw Spar- row, the youngest of the nine, born January 1, 1806.
James L. Sparrow, father of the superintendent, married Sukey Crosby, of Orleans, December 16, 1824. Their four daughters were: Julia M., who ' died young; Anna E. (Mrs. Freeman H. Snow), Susan M. (Mrs. Joseph K. May) and Sarah E., who died at eighteen. James H., their oldest son, was a well known citizen of Cambridgeport, Mass., until his death there in 1880; William F. enlisted in the civil war and was killed at Goldsboro, N. C, in December, 1862. Benjamin C, the sixth child and youngest son, is the Superintendent Sparrow of this sketch. He is a member of Frank D. Hammond Post, No. 141, G. A. R., and has found time to serve his town on the school board more or less for the past twenty-three years. His ability in the life saving ser- vice was early recognized by his appointment on the board of experts to examine new appliances and methods proposed for use by the de- partment. This position he has held until the present time.
He was married to Eunice S., daughter of Moses O. Felton, Decem- ber 25, 1866, and they have two children living — Susan F. and Joseph- ine M. Mrs. Sparrow was a resident of Shutesbury, Mass., and was a teacher here in 1864-1866. They reside upon the home farm in East Orleans.
The life saving stations on the Cape are generally oflBcered and manned by men residing in the towns where the stations are located. Provisions have been made by the government for some compensation in cases of death or disability while in this service; and still greater liberality would be no more than a just recognition of the perils en- countered by the courageous men. Year by year improvements have been made in the buildings and apparatus. The selection of men by ascertainment of health, habits, age and professional acquirement has been enforced; thorough inspection of stations and exercise of the keepers and men in the use of the apparatus and maneuvers of an es- tablished drill have been regularly instituted, and a patrol system practiced. The men are instructed in the most approved methods of restoring the apparently drowned persons with whom they of ten come in contact in their line of duty. A code of signals for day and night has been devised, to enable patrolmen to communicate with stations, whereby preparations for hasty assistance can be made: In fact the
CIVIL HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONS.
61
appropriations by congress have been annually sufficient to render this humane service efficient, rescuing hundreds of lives and saving large amounts of property, as the following table fully demonstrates. The Second district comprises the stations of the Massachusetts coast, ten of which are on the Cape. The accompanying table contains the statistics of the entire district. Of the number of vessels reported in distress, those assisted by the Cape -stations are fully proportionate in the comparison of its number of stations with those of the district.
|
Sao r |
CD •SO |
stimated Value Vessels. |
stimated Value f Cargo. |
stimated Value Property Saved. |
IS . |
|
|
l-a |
H "S |
W o |
W -g |
o |
||
|
1873 |
9 |
$72,900 |
$211,180 |
$228,006 |
74 |
74 |
|
1874 |
18 |
176,450 |
164,764 |
253,294 |
146 |
146 |
|
1875 |
14 |
345,000 |
135,450 |
220,450 |
112 |
97 |
|
1876 |
23 |
245,000 |
111,127 |
212,900 |
211 |
210 |
|
1877 |
21 |
234,300 |
129,506 |
160,050 |
158 |
157 |
|
1878 |
20 |
77,056 |
16,983 |
24,904 |
121 |
102 |
|
1879 |
26 |
90,290 |
66,700 |
112,575 |
128 |
124 |
|
1880 |
22 |
229,795 |
110,865 |
260,185 |
144 |
144 |
|
1881 |
23 |
95,270 |
42,202 |
96,325 |
122 |
122 |
|
1882 |
81 |
189,030 |
80,850 |
207,205 |
162 |
162 |
|
1883 |
26 |
266,805 |
51,405 |
283,255 |
168 |
168 |
|
1884 |
40 |
285,935 |
57,460 |
265,015 |
239 |
239 |
|
1885 |
41 |
217,230 |
139,600 |
265,480 |
242 |
242 |
|
1886 |
54 |
373,470 |
204,305 |
283,285 |
898 |
398 |
|
1887 |
40 |
696,250 |
217,420 |
854,010 |
136 |
138 |
|
1888 |
80 |
648,695 |
864,490 |
1,146,190 |
895 |
895 |
|
1889 |
55 |
874,655 |
;03,823 |
857,601 |
403 |
394 |
CHAPTER VI.
MILITARY HISTORY.
"New England Confederation. — Rrst Indian Troubles. — King Philip's War. — French and Indian Wars.— The Revolution.— Shay's Rebellion.— War of 1812.
IN 1642 the attitude of the Indians, on the main land, created sus- picions of hostility. The severe laws of the colony had been rigidly enforced and the free instinct of the natives had been so bridled as to cause a feeling of unrest. Their unfriendliness was too apparent. The Plymouth colony resolved to raise thirty men for an expedition against them. Firearms had prudentially been withheld from them by order of the colony, and a force of this number was thought to be formidable. The court was hastily called together, September 7, Edward Dillingham and Richard Chadwell of Sand- wich, Anthony Anable and John Cooper of Barnstable, and William Palmer of Yarmouth being present. A company was formed with Miles Standish, captain; William Palmer, lieutenant; and Peregrine White, ensign. Edmund Freeman, Anthony Thacher and Thomas Dimoc were appointed members of the council of war.
A confederation of a portion of the infant colonies of New Eng- land was formed in 1643 for the promotion of union, offensive and -defensive, in any difficulties with the Indians. This measure had been contemplated for several years by those colonies, and this con- federation, The United Colonies of New England, existed until 1686, when affairs were materially changed by the commission from King James II. This first spirit of confederation, which became later the basis of our national existence, having been perfected, •orders were issued for every town within the jurisdiction of the court to provide ammunition and arms, and be ready for prompt action. Of the thirty men mentioned, eight were from the Cape — Sandwich and Barnstable furnishing three each, and Yarmouth two. These men were each to be provided with a musket, firelock or matchlock, a pair of bandoliers or pouches for powder and bullets, a .sword and belt, a worm and scourer, a rest and a knapsack. Each private soldier was to have eighteen shillings per month when in • service. From this date was the establishment in the towns of mili-
MILITARY HISTORY. 63
tary companies, the training field, and other warlike measures. Barn- stable, Sandwich and Yarmouth — then the only incorporated towns on the Cape — at once formed military companies, and the two latter towns provided places of safety for the women and children. The exercises of training were always begun with prayer, and none could belong to the company who were not freemen and of " good report."
The colony, with every town on the alert, awaited the development of a struggle which arose in 1643 between Uncas and the Pequots, who, with the Narragansetts, had agreed in 1637 not to make war upon each other without first an appeal to the English. Uncas con- ceived that an attempt had been made upon his life by a Pequot, which resulted in a war between Uncas and Miantonomi; and the latter sachem, although he could bring one thousand warriors to the field, was defeated and taken prisoner by Uncas. The prisoner was put to death by the advice of the commissioners, at their meeting in Boston, in September of that year. The exasperation of the Narra- gansetts was beyond control; they charged the English with a want of good faith, and preparations were macje for hostile movements. The Narragansetts resolved to secure the head of Uncas, and the English resolved to defend him.
In addition to what had already been done, more men were raised. This conflict would draw from the towns of the Cape in proportion to the number of its people, as they were included in the confederation. Massachusetts at once raised one hundred and ninety men, Plymouth colony 40, Connecticut 40, and New Haven 30. The Plymouth quota, under Captain Miles Standish, went as far as Rehoboth; but while the English were advancing, the Narragansett sachems were iti Bos- ton, suing for peace, which was granted, with the requirement of heavy penalties and burdens. Thus closed the first Indian troubles of the colony.
The December court of 1652 directed the several towns to send deputies, April 1, 1653, " to treat and conclude on such military affairs as may tend to our present and future safety." Variances had arisen between England and Holland, and the lowering clouds of war, with Indian cruelties, hung over the colony. Sandwich sent James Skiff ; Yarmouth, Sergeant Rider and John Gorham; Barnstable, Lieutenant Fuller and Sergeant Thomas Hinckley; and Eastham, which town had now been incorporated, John Doane and Richard Sparrow. Sixty men were ordered to be raised in this colony. Of these Sandwich, Yarmouth and Barnstable were to furnish six each, and Eastham three. Provisions were made for raising money for the further enlist- ment of soldiers and procuring arms, and a certain number were to take their arms to meeting on the Sabbath. In 1664 a deputation of " horse and foot" was sent with a message to the Niantick sachem, and, to
64 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
make up a safe and formidable body as a guard, Sandwicli, Eastham and Yarmouth furnished four men each, and Barnstable five, as their quota. As yet no outbreak had occurred, but the threatening appear- ances occasioned by jealousies necessitated continued readiness on the part of the colonies. In 1655 troops of horse were required by the court, and the proportion of the four towns of the Cape was three each. In 1658 a military system was perfected, by which a small standing army and the militia of the towns comprised the colonial force.
A council of war was called at Plymouth in 1667, the confederation apprehending danger from the Dutch and French — their common enemies — and the Plymouth colony suspected the Indians, under King Philip, whose " frequent assembling and various movements indicated war." A commission of armed men met Philip at Taunton soon after, who agreed to leave his arms with the English, as a security that no war was in his heart. But this did not allay the suspicions nor watchfulness of the colonies. The Indians of the Cape in 1671, and again in 1674, pledged themselves, by their sachems, to fidelity. More men were pressed into the service, of whom Barnstable and Sandwich furnished ten, Yarmouth nine', and Eastbam five. But the same year Philip entered into a treaty of peace, which for several years allowed the colonies comparative quiet, and the men of the Cape towns to return home to be in readiness when called.
In 1674 two Indians, one of whom was Philip's counselor, were arrested for the supposed murder of another Indian found dead in Middleboro pond. They were tried and executed by order of the court. Philip regarded the execution as an outrage. Hostilities com- menced. An army was soon in the field — 158 men from Plymouth colony; 627 from the Massachusetts; and 315 from Connecticut. The towns of Sandwich and Barnstable furnished sixteen each, Yarmouth fifteen, and Eastham eight. Again, in December of the same year, nearly as many men were required of these towns. Skirmishes suc- ceeded, then a general war, which was disastrous to all concerned. The Cape was only affected by the greatly increased expenses and the loss of men. The Indians of the Cape remained neutral, and were considered a defense to Sandwich and the towns below. In 1676 one reverse at Rehoboth, early in the war, cost the Cape twenty men— Barnstable six, Yarmouth and Sandwich five each, and Eastham four. The almost entire command of Captain Pierce of Scituate — fifty men and twenty Indians — was massacred, including the captain himself. The names of the Barnstable men lost were: Samuel Child, Lieutenant Fuller, John Lewis, Eleazur Cobb, Samuel Linnet and Samuel Boreman or Bowman. 'We are unable to find the list from the other towns. The Indians lost were Cape Indians, and only one was permitted to return.
MILITARY HISTORY. 65
The Indian Amos, who escaped, was of the Barnstable quota, and not only fought bravely to the last, but practiced the usual strategy to escape. He saw that the hostile tribe had blackened their faces to distinguish themselves from the friendly Indians, and as a dernier ressort he wet some powder, blackened his own face and passed through safely.
Before the close of the year, seven hundred Indian warriors had fallen, among them twenty-five sachems; and many deaths followed from wounds. Many women and children were slain in the burning of six hundred wigwams. Of the colonists, six captains and eighty privates were slain and many wounded. In 1676 a new levy of men from the towns was required. The quota from the Cape towns was: Barnstable, thirty; Sandwich, twenty-eight; Yarmouth, twenty-six: and Eastham, eighteen. All boys under sixteen years were required to join the town guard. Three months later Barnstable was required to furn ish sixteen pounds and fifteen men; Sandwich the same; Yarmouth four- teen pounds and thirteen men; and Eastham ten pounds five shillings and ten men. In July of the same year other heavy war rates were levied on the towns.
August 12, 1676, King Philip, the deadly foe of the Plymouth col- ony, fell; his head was brought to Plymouth, which occasioned a gen- eral thanksgiving. From his death the extinction of his tribe may be dated. The termination of this terrible war was of great importance to the exhausted colonies, as during its active prosecution six hundred of the best men had been lost and thirteen of the towns of the settlers had been destroyed. The debts of the war fell heavily upon the early towns of the Cape, and many years elapsed before they were liquid- ated.
The policy of the colony toward the defeated Indians was so severe that the Indians in the vicinity of Sandwich and Barnstable grew rest- less, and prudence was required to restrain them, and especially to hold them friendly to the English. The residence of Mr. Hinckley, while be was abroad on public duties, was guarded, and at Sandwich a guard was kept as a matter of safety and to prevent any communi- cation between the friendly and hostile tribes. This condition of affairs gradually disappeared; the Indians of the Cape continued friendly in their relations; and although the four primitive towns of this territory of which we write had suffered greatly in many ways, the same people, with those of other towns, had many privations yet in store.
French and Indian Wars. — In 1690 other troubles than those en- gendered by the former usurpations of Andros were developing to agitate the inhabitants of Barnstable as well as other counties. The war with the French and their Indian allies was inevitable, and the 6
66 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
Plymoutti colony must bear its proportion. It was ordered that men be raised to go to New York and other places against the enemy; of these Barnstable county was to send nineteen- — Barnstable five; Sand- wich, Yarmouth and Eastham four each; and Monomoyick and Suc- conessit one each. (As the two latter towns were soon after known as Chatham and Falmouth, these names will be used.) But soon after the county was pressed to furnish forty-six m:re men — Barnstable twelve; Sandwich, Yarmouth and Eastham ten each; and Chatham and Falmouth each two; also, the county was compelled to furnish twenty-two Indians. The same year the county was taxed £452, 4s., 9d. for the expenses of the war, and this additional burden was distrib- uted among the towns, Barnstable paying the largest sum and Fal- mouth the least. The full account of this campaign may be found in Hutchinson's History of Massachusetts Bay.
The treaty of Ryswick in 1697 temporarily closed the seven years of war, and permitted the inhabitants of the Cape towns to resume for a short period their wonted avocations.
In 1702, during the reign of Queen Anne, difficulties again arose between England and the French and their Indian allies. For years this war continued, with all its horrors of Indian inhuman- ities instigated by the French; and frequent requirements were made upon the Cape towns for men and money; until, in 1713, the peace negotiations at Utrecht again quieted the disturbing elements. It was then estimated that for some years not less than one-fifth of the inhabitants of the towns had been engaged in actual ser- vice, while those at home had been subjected to constant fears and alarms, as well as the most onerous pecuniary burdens.
In 1691, for the relief of the towns from the burdens of war, and in the scarcity of currency, the court issued bills of credit and made them current for the payment of all public and private debts. In 1711, to still further relieve the people, a series of forty thousand pounds was issued. These sinews of war perhaps tem- porarily gave relief; but their depreciation in after years fell heavily upon the soldiers who had received them for pay. In 1721 and 1727 the general court issued more of these bills to be loaned to the towns, and which were sent to them in proportionate amounts. These bills, when first issued, had been redeemed by the general court until 1704, when their redemption was indefinitely postponed. Their value slid down the scale of depreciation according to the denomination of " old tenor," " middle tenor " and " new tenor," which terms were applicable to the age or issue of the bills. In 1749 Eng- land sent to Boston 215 chests, each containing three thousand dol- lars in silver, also one hundred casks of copper — seventeen cart- loads of the silver and ten of the copper — to redeem these bills.
MILITARY HISTORY. 67
The bills were paid at the treasury at the rate of forty-five shillings in bills of the old tenor, or lis. 3d. in new tenor, for. one Spanish dollar.
In 1744 another war between Great Britain and France was commenced, and the Indians, through French influence and the bounties for scalps, attacked some New England towns. Many per- sons from the Cape were pressed into the service, many were taken prisoners and many killed during a bloody war of nineteen years. In 1745 the march against Cape Breton and the taking of Louisburg — the Gibraltar of America — were events of great moment in the history of those days. Colonel Graham's regiment did valiant service there. The captains were Jonathan Carey, Edward Dimmick, Elisha Doane, Sylvanus Cobb, Israel Bailey, Gershom Bradford and Samuel Lom- bard. Wolcott's regiment of Connecticut forces had Captain Daniel Chapman and Lieutenant Lothrop from the Cape. The French had fortified Louisburg at a vast expense, and supposed it impregnable to the assaults of any force. The ire of the French nation was so aroused that in 1746 the largest armament that had yet been sent was de- spatched to the New World under Duke d'Auville to recover Louisburg and aid the Canadians and Indians in devastating and distressing the New England colony. This armament of eleven ships of the line and thirty smaller vessels of war, besides transports bearing three thou- sand regulars, was reduced more than one-half by storms and losses, while sickness carried off many more after the arrival, and the remain- ing vessels one by one returned to France. The impressments by the mother country for men from the towns were excessive during these stirring events, and it is a matter of historical significance that in 1749 Truro and other towns petitioned against the injustice, and many towns denounced it an outrage. The feeling engendered on the Cape by the unjust drain of its means and best men had not been entirely forgotten a score of years later when, just prior to the revo lution, the placing of other burdens was attempted.
The peace of Aix-la-Chapelle in 1749 was hailed with joy by every town, but in 1753 Great Britain charged France with a violation of the treaty, and the preparations, for war were again made. In 1755 troops arrived from England, the colonies again raised their propor- tion, and expeditions went against Fort Du Quesne and other vulner- able points of the French possessions. To furnish men for this and other expeditions of the previous year, the Cape towns had been sadly depleted, and in 1768, when more soldiers were sent out for the re- duction of Canada, one-third of its efficient men were in service. The conquest led to the peace of Paris in 1763, and the concession to Eng- land of Canada and other French possessions. Great Britain became really the arbiter of the seas and of the New World. Those who sur-
68 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
vived the rigors of the northern winters, the confinement in prisons and strife of battle were again allowed to seek their humble homes and assist in bearing the burden of debts created by the demands of the long war. The courage and strength of the people of the colony were evident to Great Britain, and to most effectively secure a perma- nent sovereignty over them seemed to be the desire of the parliament. But the attempt to force the payment of a portion of her own debts upon the colonists who had been made to suffer, and had been also deeply burdened in her service, was the act that deprived the mother country of the colonies which she so much desired to retain.
Revolutionary War. — In 1766 Great Britain, to relieve her treas- ury, which had been depleted by successive wars, assumed the right to tax her colonies in America. Of the taxes imposed, the stamp act and that on tea were the most odious. The repeal of the former in 1766 did not allay the indignation of the colonists. Peti- tions and rembnstrances were of no avail, and the determination to resist was increased by Great Britain's persistent assumption. In 1768 meetings were held in the several towns and resolutions passed " that we will purchase no imported goods until the tax be repealed." Powder houses were erected in some of the towns of the county and other preparations of a warlike character were made. The presence of soldiery in front of Boston in 1769 fanned the latent spark into an increasing flame; and when in Marcn, 1770, in an affair near Faneuil Hall, Boston, five of its inhabitants were shot down by the British, the flames became irrepressible. In 1773 organizations called " Sons of Liberty " sprang up in nearly every town, and strong resolutions of resistance were passed. The last of the tea ships sent to these shores was wrecked on Cape Cod and most of its cargo lost; but the knowl- edge that it was the last, and that the entire cargo of tea was steeping in ocean brine, did not dampen the determination of the patriots of this county. Frequent meetings were held and the vote unanimously taken " to resist the sale and use' of the article, if needs be, in blood to our knees." The towns of the county have in their records many earnest evidences of the zeal of the inhabitants. The subsequent throwing overboard of 342 chests of tea in Boston harbor by patriots disguised as Indians, and the many acts that led to the war for liberty, are matters of a more general history.
In the acts of the entire colony in opposing the claims of Great Britain, the people of Barnstable county acquiesced, and in many of the most daring were foremost. In September, 1774, the residents of Sandwich, joined by many from the towns west, marched to Barnstable to intercept the sitting of the court of common pleas. This was not only effectually accomplished, but the body of the people obtained the names of the judges t© a promise that they would not accept of
MILITARY HISTORY. 69
any duties in conformity with the unjust acts of parliament, and that if required to do any business contrary to the charter of the province they would refuse. This uprising of the citizens of this county was one of the first overt acts of the colony, and it was followed by re- quests to military oflBcers to resign the commissions held under an authority that would, if it could, reduce them to slavery and obedi- ence. This request was generally acceded to by all who held military and civil commissions in the county. While we cannot in our lim- ited space give the entire proceedings of the daring acts, the patriots who served as leaders and committees were: Simeon Wing, Nathaniel Freeman, Stephen Nye, Zacheus Burge, Seth Freeman, Eliakim Tobey, Joseph Nye 3d, Micah Blackwell, Josiah Haskell, Aaron Bar- low, Joseph Otis, George Lewis, James Davis, John Crocker, jr., Nathan Foster, Thomas Sturgis, Solomon Otis, John Grannis, Elisha Swift, Ebenezer Nye, David Taylor, John Chapman, -Joshua Gray, Thomas Paine, Nathaniel Downs, Doctor Davis, John Doty, Daniel Crocker, Ebenezer Jenkins, Eli Phinney, Lot Nye, Moses Swift, Dan- iel Butler, jr., Daniel Taylor, Isaac Hamblin, Joseph Crowell, Ben- jamin Freeman, John Freeman, Lot Gray, Job Crocker, Amos Knowles, jr., Samuel Smith, David Greenough, Dr. Samuel Adams, Jonathan Collins, Deacon Bassett, Richard Sears, Salathiel Bumpas and Mala- chi Ellis.
Another Cape patriot — James Otis, jr. — arose in court, in 1761, at Boston, where the legality of " the writs of assistance " was being argued, and said: " I am determined to proceed, and to the call of my country am ready to sacrifice estate, ease, health, applause and even life." At the town meetings of the towns of the county it was voted to oppose the tyranny of Great Britain at the risk of fortunes and lives. Some of the citizens were not thus zealous in the cause, and in the language of that day these were called tories. The Otis papers and other histories give accounts of bitter altercations in some towns of the county; but this fact did not defer the action or dampen the zeal of those engaged in the cause. The peculiar position of the county, topographically, its extended and exposed sea coasts, and the consequent evil to their own shipping and fishery did not cause hesi- tation in acts that tended to bring on the prolonged war. During the blockade of Boston by the action of the port bill, the towns of this county contributed liberally in money, wood and provisions to the wants of the people of that city, and sustained them in all their reso- lutions.
November 16, 1774, a county congress was held in Barnstable, at which Hon. James Otis was chosen moderator, and Colonel Joseph Otis clerk; Colonel Nathaniel Freeman, Joseph Otis, Thomas Paine, Daniel Davis and Job Crocker were appointed a committee to com-
70 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
municate with other counties: and the same gentlemen, with Captain Joseph Doane and Captain Jonathan Howes, were appointed as a com- mittee to consider the public grievances and report at an adjourned meeting.
But the time had arrived when the edict that " the country shall be free " must be enforced by the privations of war. The happy fire- sides and rural avocations must be exchanged for the stem duties of a military life. Many noble deeds were performed in the struggle that followed, which are, and ever will be, unrecorded; for no histo- rian can give the people of the Cape their full meed of praise.
In 1775 the first din of battle was heard when General Gage sent troops to Concord to destroy the stores of the provincials, and seven hundred men along the road put to flight one thousand seven hundred of his royal army. Then the couriers went out crj'ing, " the war is begun." No one lives to remember the thrill of determination that vibrated along the Cape to its extremity when that cry leaped from town to town. The year was an active one in levying men for the defense of the coast, and Major Hawley, Mr. Sullivan, Mr. Gerry and Colonels Ome and Freeman were appointed to report proper regula- tions for minute men. Major Joseph Dimmick, with a sufficient force, was commissioned to repair to Nantucket and other islands and arrest those who were supplying the enemy with provisions. The defense of the coast was entrusted to four companies; of Company 1, Nathan Smith was captain; Jeremiah Mantor, first lieutenant; and Fortunatus Bassett, second lieutenant; of Company 2, Benjamin Smith, captain; Melatiah Davis, first lieutenant; and James Shaw, second lieutenant; Company 3, John Grannis, captain; James Blossom, first lieutenant; Samuel Hallett, second lieutenant; Company 4, Elisha Nye, captain; Stephen Nye, jr., first lieutenant; and John Russell, second lieu- tenant.
In January, 1776, General Washington called for six regiments of 728 men each, to be raised in the province, of which 260 men were to be furnished by Barnstable county. The committee to direct this duty in the county were Colonels Otis and Cobb. Barnstable and Plymouth countiies together raised one entire regiment, of which Colonel Carey of Bridgewater was commandant; Barachiah Bassett of Falmouth, lieutenant colonel; Thomas Hamilton of Chatham, adju- tant; and Nathaniel Hall of Harwich, surgeon mate. Still later, in January, another regiment was called from the same source to go to Canada. Many of these men were Mashpees, who made valiant soldiers. On the 31st the militia of the county was divided into two regiments and the general court appointed the officers; for the first, including Barnstable, Sandwich, Yarmouth and Falmouth, Nathaniel Freeman, colonel; Joseph Dimmick, lieutenant colonel; Joshua Gray,
MILITARY HISTORY. 71
first major; and George Lewis, second major; for the second, includ- ing the towns of Harwich, Eastham, Chatham, Wellfleet, Truro and Provincetown, Joseph Doane, colonel; Elisha Cobb, lieutenant colonel; Zenas Winslow, first major; and Gideon Freeman, second major; Dim- mick declined in favor of Colonel Enoch IJallett, and accepted the position of first major in place of Gray, who declined.
The battle of Bunker Hill had been fought and war was at the very door of the Cape. The general court ordered that all persons save the merest portions of rags for the manufacture of paper, which, by the action of the revolted colonies and the condition of affairs, could not be otherwise obtained. In February, 1776, subscriptions were opened to give all who had silver and gold the opportunity to exchange the coin for bills, and Colonels Otis and Doane were ap- pointed receivers for this county.
During the year General Washington required the court of the colony to furnish a large quota of blankets for army use. The select- men of the towns of the Cape were required by the court to assist in gathering these blankets, and the sum of ^^190, 9s., was placed in the hands of Captain Amos Knowles of Eastham for their purchase. Again men were required; this call was for 203 men from this county. Barnstable raised forty-five men. Sandwich, Yarmouth, Harwich and Eastham, forty each; Wellfleet, eighteen; Chatham and Falmouth, twenty-six each.
In March, 1776, during the most diligent action to supply the camps of war with necessary supplies, the Cape, by its peculiar topography and shoals, had another interposition of Providence by the casting ashore at Provincetown of a sloop load of the enemy's goods; these, with the transport load that was cast upon the beach the same month at Truro, went far in relieving the needs of the army. The need of coats, waistcoats and breeches was still felt, and Joseph Nye of Har- wich was appointed to procure as many as he could in Barnstable county.
July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was passed. This was hailed with joy by all the colonies, and more especially on the Cape, where public meetings had been held in June, in which the people had pledged their property, honor and lives in its support.
Battle followed battle, and the tide of war drifted from Boston bar- bor to the southwest. On the 10th of July one from every twenty- five men liable to military duty was taken from Barnstable county, and Joseph Nye of Sandwich, and Amos Knowles, jr., of Eastham were appointed by the court to make the draft. The men were or- dered to Rhode Island, and for their transportation Joseph Nye and others were appointed to purchase sixty whale boats, to be delivered at Falmouth or some convenient place on Buzzards bay. This draft
72 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
of men from the Cape was more severely felt than any former ones of the war, for many were engaged on the sea and were enumer- ated among those liable to do military duty.
The year 1777 opened with many privations to the people of the county. The most of the, fishing vessels were rotting at the wharves; the traffic was gone. The farmer might plant, but perhaps the next draft would not leave him to harvest. But they hopefully looked to the desired result. Those at home, not only on the Cape but through- out the colonies, realized that those in the field and at Valley Forge were also enduring hardships; and the vote of the town meeting was " that the town will provide for the families of the absent." The prison-ship inhumanity of the enemy was more severe upon the resi- dents of the Cape than upon any other county, for a larger proportion were in the naval service; but to the credit of these men history does not reveal the name of one who preferred British gold or promotion to the loathsome hold. The American privateers were continually harassing the enemy by their success, having captured prior to 1777 nearly five hundred British vessels, for which the people of the Cape were entitled to great credit.
The notes of war were heard along the Atliantic coast, and early in 1777 the general court resolved to draft every seventh man in the colony to complete the required quota. This was a serious blow to this Cape, for it was ordered to make the draft from all over sixteen years of age, at home and abroad. In June of the same year eighty- eight more men were drafted from the county to proceed to Rhode Island, and August 17th still more were ordered, with field pieces, to protect Truro from the invasions threatened from British men-of-war. The surrender of Burgoyne, October 22, 1777, caused rejoicings througiout the land, and the court set apart a day for a general thanksgiving. But the end was not yet. In April, 1778, the county of Barnstable was required to furnish seventy-two more men; Yar- mouth, fourteen; Barnstable, fifteen; Eastham and Harwich, twelve each; Sandwich, eight; Falmouth, six; Chatham, Wellfleet and Truro, five each, including officers. This had hardly passed when on June 12th this county was desired to send seventy-eight more men, also 605 each of shirts and pairs of shoes and stockings. Of these articles Barnstable furnished eighty-two of each; Yarmouth, seventy-three; Eastham, sixty-five; Harwich, sixty-four; Sandvrich, fifty-five; Well- fleet, forty-five; Falmouth, forty-three; Truro, forty-two; Chatham, thirty; and Provincetown, six. The penalty for any delinquency was thirty pounds.
The drafts came so frequently that upon receipt of a letter from General Otis as to the danger of the Cape from British hordes, in which he said, " it is like dragging men from home when their houses
MILITARY HISTORY. 73
are on fire," the court in September ordered that "inasmuch as the militia of the county have been and continue to be greatly harassed by the appearance of the enemy's ships and the landing of troops in their vicinity, the county be excused for the present from raising men agreeably to the order of the Council." But this order of the council applied to fifty men ordered to go to Providence; those already or- dered were furnished. in the best possible manner.
Among the known disasters on the sea the shipwreck of the Gen. Arnold, December 24, 1777, was one of the most distressing. This vessel mounted twenty guns, with a crew of 105 men and boys. Captain James Magee, commanding. In company with the sloop of war Revenge, of ten guns, the Gen. Arnold sailed from Boston, ordered south on duty. In the bay the vessels encountered a violent storm, and the Revenge weathered Cape Cod and was saved; but the Arnold, on December 25th, went ashore in Plymouth harbor, and nearly all her crew perished from cold. Of those on board who perished the twelve from Barnstable were: John Russell, captain of marines; Barnabas Lothrop, jr., Daniel Hall, Thomas Caseley, Ebenezer Bacon, Jesse Gar- rett, John Berry, Barnabas Howes, Stephen Bacon, Jonathan Lothrop, Barnabas Downs, jr., and Boston Crocker, a negro servant. These were all from the East parish.
Some good news was occasionally had in the shifting scenes of war, as was seen by the wreck of the British ship Somerset, which was stranded November 8, on the banks at Truro. The crew of 480 men, under Colonel Hallett, were marched to Boston as prisoners of war.
In 1779, June 8th, more men were called for to re-enforce the conti- nental army, and June 21st the county was again required to supply its quota of shirts, shoes and stockings. The number of men to be drafted was eighty-seven and the number of wearing apparel was again 505. Colonel Enoch Hallett was to receive the clothing. The reader may be surprised by the frequency of these draughts for men, and the compulsion, with forfeiture, to supply wearing apparel; but with the surrender of Burgoyne the war did not close. Lord Corn- wallis was in the south with a still larger force, and the war was yet in active progress. General Sullivan's expedition against the Six Nations, the powerful confederacy of Indians of New York, was sent out this year. The levies of men from the county of Barnstable were only its quota of the whole number raised from the several colonies. That these frequent drafts were all promptly met, even in this county, could hardly be expected; but it is known that the record of the Cape towns was no exception to others of the province in this relation.
The year 1780 dawned with many depressing circumstances. The currency of the country had now depreciated to one-thirtieth of its face value, and business eyerywhere was greatly impeded. In May
74 HISTORY OF BARNSTABLE COUNTY.
of this year, 187 men and a large quantity of beef were levied upon the county. The burden of these demands, removing from the county nearly all the able-bodied men and all the beef fit for food, may be imagined. The beef demanded was 71,280 pounds— Barnstable, 16,- 510; Sandwich, 11,120; Yarmouth, 10,090; Chatham, 3,860; Truro, 3,680; Eastham, 7,250; Harwich, 8,250; Wellfleet, 3,620; and Falmouth, 7,800. This was followed in December by a demand for 156 more men from the county — Barnstable, thirty-one; Sandwich, twenty-two; Yarmouth, twenty-four; Eastham, seventeen; Wellfleet, eight; Chat- ham, nine; Harwich, nineteen; Falmouth, seventeen; and Truro, nine. Again in December of this year, the commonwealth's proportion of spe- cific supplies for the army was 4,626,178 pounds of beef, of which Barn- stable county was to supply 136,875 pounds. In lieu of beef at £3, 7s., 6d. per cwt., gjain could be substituted at the rate of seven shil- lings per bushel for rye, five shillings for corn, three shillings for oats and seven shillings for peas.
Would it surprise the reader to know that, under all these require- ments, some of the towns of the various colonies should petition fbr an abateinent of their levies? Would it be to the discredit of the Cape towns to be compelled to seek relief? Harwich, Chatham, East- ham and Yarmouth at this time asked for an abatement of the levies, for they had not and could not procure the beef. In May, 1781, other towns followed in similar petitions, and upon the refusal of any abate- ment, found it impossible to comply. A meeting of delegates chosen for the purpose was held at Barnstable, at which Dr. John Davis was chosen to present to the general court the fact " the inequality of the burdens of the Cape seem not to have been well considered hy the government heretofore; that to pay taxes equal to those more favor- ably circumstanced, and to be obliged to provide clothing in equal proportion to others, besides the needs of the families of the soldiers, was a suflBcient sacrifice without being enjoined to stand side by side with agricultural towns in supplying beef for the army." But this appeal to the court was not made until the commander-in-chief had asked for another supply of beef, of which this county's quota was 56,489 pounds. •
The year 1781 was a deplorable one for the whole country, and at the opening of 1782 the horizon was still darker. The condition of the continental army was distressing. Baron Steuben wrote of his command from Fishkill, May 28th: "Yesterday was the third day of our army having been without provisions. The army could not make a march of one day. The distresses have arrived at the greatest pos- sible degree." General Greene, August 13th,wrote: " For three months, more than one-third of our men, were entirely naked, with nothing but a breech-cloth about them, and never came out of their tents; and
MILITARY HISTORY. 76
the rest are ragged as wolves. Our condition was little better in the matter of provisions." This deplorable condition of affairs was not confined to the army; destitution was everywhere in